At a loss....

SteveT

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Ok guys...I live in San Jose, CA. and so far, I can't find any stores that have pork butts...but then, maybe I am confused and really don't know what to ask for, because when I ask for a pork butt, they keep trying to sell me a ham. So....and due to different parts of the country calling the same cut of meat, something different....Exactly what part of the pig/hog does the "butt" come from, and as I am going to smoke it for pulled pork, I assume I want an un-cured portion. And...yes, I am a newbie and have never smoked a butt!!

By the way....I have noticed a couple of guys saying they can't find Tri-tips... I have no problem finding them here..... Oh...and for you guys that live in the midwest, where I am originally from, (Pekin, IL. to be exact)... I would Kill or at least main, for a breaded pork tenderloin sandwich!!!...The people out here have NO idea what they are...and they also make Chicken Fried steak with corn meal, instead of flour!!! I went into a restaurant, and ordered a Chicken Fried Steak, and when they brought it out, I asked them "what in the heck is this" and I was told it was a Chicken Fried Steak.... I told them, "No it wasn't!!!" I then proceeded to teach the cook how to make a proper Chicken Fried Steak!!!

SteveT

Steve,

Go to Safeway today (I think their sale ends today). They have butts for $1.99lb. If you buy them in creyovac (They get them out of the back) they come in a 2 pack...even cheaper... $1.69lb. I bought 6 butts today at the Branham and Snell store. Nob Hill has these for $2.49 a pound on sale.

I looked at the ads beginning Wednesday(tomorrow),and neither store had them on sale..I stocked up today for a cookout we are having Saturday. They last a LONG time in creyovac.