MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 12-09-2018, 12:24 AM   #1
clhman
Found some matches.

Name/Nickname : Conor
Default New smoker...disappointed and perplexed

Howdy, I'm looking for some wisdom.

I've been cooking for a couple of years now and have had great results. My starter smoker was an Oklahoma Joe's offset. I've really wanted to up my game and get into competition. I decided to build my own. I just finished it. It is an offset 115 gallon propane tank with an insulated firebox. I think it turned out well. I feel like I have a fairly good grasp on brisket...until last night.

I fired up the new smoker for a big cook. I cooked two briskets and three racks of babybacks. I was very careful and took good notes. Here are high points:

-Prime briskets, each 11 pounds, trimmed
-Cooked on Birch wood (best I can get in Alaska)
-Maintained 250-275F
-Hit the stall at 4 hours
-Brought it to 172F and wrapped it in pink butcher paper
-I monitored temp the whole time in both briskets - probe was in the fattest part of the point
-I pulled them at 11 hours and 202F
-I put them in my Yeti to rest for 1.5hr

Awesome bark, great smoke ring, but DRY as can be. The cooler had 2" of juice at the bottom when I pulled them out for the party. Also steam came out when I opened it.

I am always super meticulous when I cook. What did I do wrong? Was it as simple as I just overcooked it? Or did I kill it by letting it sit in the Yeti? I feel like every other part of the process was on point.