Sponsor Question

snoqualmiesmoker

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
I am sure many of you have sponsors, but my question is, and I don't mean to pry, but how much should I ask my main sponsor for. I have a business who would love to sponsor me, but I don't know how much to ask for.

Can someone break down sponsorship and the ins and outs of going with or without?

Thanks guys. I am a noob at this part of the business!

Are you cooking PNWBA or KCBS?
Figure $150-250 for entry fees, your meats, greens, fuel, etc.

I would say what you ask for depends on thier motives, and what they get out of it... Are they looking for any specific performance from you?
Are there events that help them more than others (visability of thier name/product)?
Will you be flying a banner, or ?

Some sponsors are looking for a place to spend some marketing $ to get a different set of eyes on thier name. For example... they may have had $100 race sponsorship of a dirt track car to have thier name on the rear quarter panel, and now they are looking for someplace else to divert that money. 50 races would be $5000 over a season... So do you go for the $5K or just ask for $100 a contest ( numbers a ficticous, for example only).

Some folks have product or gear, and they might get more mileage out of sponsorship with you, so they go a little deeper... if they see extra value in having you in thier fold.

Figure out what the value to the potential sponsor is, and make it a win/win.