Questions about Offset Smokers... HELP!

DirtyDirty00

is one Smokin' Farker
So i bought myself a nice new offset from pits by JJ. ive been cooking for the past 2 years (summers) on a cinder block built offset. (not very efficient) the smoker arrives tomorrow and i have a few questions....

A) What do i do with the damper and the chimney damper? should i keep them both all the way open when i start my fire? Do i let it burn until its the temp then close up the dampers? When do i touch the chim damper? What is that used for? ect? any instruction would be a great help. thanks guys.

B) the pit says it uses "standard logs" what does this mean and how big are standard logs? I have split wood that i use for my smoker now. just normal splits. are these standard logs? I would think they are too big for the smoker but maybe not.

C) also if anyone has any experience with a JJ, they have another damper between the firebox and the cooking chamber... should i leave this open all the way at first as well? if so when should i start to use this? Last resort?
thanks everyone.

So i bought myself a nice new offset from pits by JJ. ive been cooking for the past 2 years (summers) on a cinder block built offset. (not very efficient) the smoker arrives tomorrow and i have a few questions....

A) What do i do with the damper and the chimney damper? should i keep them both all the way open when i start my fire? Do i let it burn until its the temp then close up the dampers? When do i touch the chim damper? What is that used for? ect? any instruction would be a great help. thanks guys.

B) the pit says it uses "standard logs" what does this mean and how big are standard logs? I have split wood that i use for my smoker now. just normal splits. are these standard logs? I would think they are too big for the smoker but maybe not.