pulled pork rub and chicken rub

LT72884

Babbling Farker
Lookin for a great pulled pork rub and also a great chicken rub. I like my smoked chicken to have crispy skin rather than rubbery. How do i achieve that since i have never smoked chicken before

thanx

Several of the Brethren market their own rubs and I'm sure several would be appropriate for your purpose. Once I tried out Plowboys Yardbird rub, I was hooked. It's excellent on pork as well as chicken. You can get it online at a few places, like...

http://www.greatlakesbbqsupply.com (a BBQ Brethren Member)
http://www.kck.com (Brethren-Friendly - look down the right side of the page).

There are more, but I can't think of them at the moment. Hopefully they'll chime in.

For a much less rubbery skin, don't smoke the chicken at 225°. Instead, cook it at around 300°.

Bood luck, and welcome aboard. Show us some pics when it's done.

Well since im new to cooking i would like to learn to make a good one. Any one feel like sharing their recipe for a great rub for chicken and a rub for pork?

I have bought rubs before and they turned out great. Now i think it is time ot learn how to make them

thanx

Paul Kirk has an excellent book about developing rubs,sauces and marinades.
It starts you off with a base and you make your own style, flavor profile.
Along with a lot of winning recipes you can use. Check it out.
jon

Paul Kirk has an excellent book about developing rubs,sauces and marinades.
It starts you off with a base and you make your own style, flavor profile.
Along with a lot of winning recipes you can use. Check it out.
jon
whats the book called. ill go to the library and see if they have it.

thanx for that info

thanx guys

OOPS...
Paul Kirks Championship Barbecue Sauces
its about 10 bucks if the library doesn't have it
jon

this works well for both(per 8lb butt or 4lbs chix 1/4s)
1 cup turbinado sugar
3 tbsp blackening spice(anybrand)
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tbsp onion powder
1/2 tbsp paprika