To mop or not to mop, that is the question

BDAABAT

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
Would appreciate the feedback of the experienced folk here. I'm new to smoking and have been reading whatever I can. There seem to be a WIDE range of opinions on mopping for cooking butts or brisket. Does it really make a difference? Or, is it one of those things, like basting a turkey in the oven, that probably doesn't make any objective difference in the final taste or moisteness of the bird?

Ideally, would love to be able to do an objective assessment... Use two identical cookers, two butts or briskets from the same vendor that are the same weight and prepared the same way and cooked at the same temps for the same amount of time (or at least to the same predetermined internal temperature) with one piece of meat mopped and the other not, then tasted by a panel of judges who were not aware of the mop status of the meat who rendered an objective assessment (at least as objective as possible) of each piece of meat.

Unfortunately, my grant to support the study didn't come through. :becky:

So, instead of a controlled experiment, would appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks!
Bruce

1_T-Scot...I don't think that was the question!

BDAABAT...I don't see a big difference in moping and not...however, it depends on the temp you are cooking at. High, maybe....low no.

Jim

I used to mop but stopped within the past year. I see no need to go back to mopping - there's been no difference in tenderness and juiciness. If you're layering flavors, that may be a reason to mop.

Open pit, mop.
Closed cooker, don't mop.

Makes sense to me.

Seems to be a theme here....
So, are there other tips/tricks for keeping meat more uniformly moist, aside from injecting?

The butt I did this past weekend was tasty, but there were two spots around the edge of the butt that were a bit dry...dry enough to be more difficult to slice. Or, is this just what happens sometimes during prolonged cooks?