MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 04-02-2011, 09:15 PM   #1
JRB
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

Default Question from a newbie

I have a master built electric smoker, and when I smoke a butt, I do not get very dark bark on the butt. Is this because it is an electric smoker? Is it because I use a water pan? I typically smoke the butts around 230 degrees, I get good flavor but I don't typically get a smoke ring, or it is faint. The rub I use does not have brown sugar in it. I did one last Saturday rubbed with a brown sugar rub, and still not very much bark.

Any thoughts?

Clueless in Vancouver....
JRB is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-02-2011, 09:28 PM   #2
OakPit
is One Chatty Farker

First, let me say I don't have any experience with a Masterbuilt.

The bark is a result of caramelizing the rub, so it is a bit of trial and error to determine which cooking temperature will yield the best results for any given meat/rub combination. The darkness generally comes from the fuel source - cleaner burning cookers don't color up as dark as other cookers.

Experiment a little bit by cooking smaller sections of butt with different meat/rub combinations. You may stumble upon something that really works well for you.

Best of luck and welcome to The Brethren!!

Traditional Santa Maria Pit
Mini, Small, Medium & Large BGE
Weber 22" OTS & 26" OTG & 18"WSM & WGA
[COLOR="Red"]Each wearing custom handles from Marty Leach[/COLOR]
OakPit is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-02-2011, 09:41 PM   #3
Pyle's BBQ