Newb question

Baboontyme

Reaction score
Hi All,

Brand spankin' new member here. I look forward to learning lots from you guys.

I have been smoking for a few years and I think I'm finally getting the hang of things, but I am still a huge work in progress.

One extremely basic question that I have involves charcoal. I have an 18" upright W and I am finally getting good at regulating temps, wood types, etc.

My question is how do I keep the charcoal from putting off so much smoke when I add it to the fire? I want my ribs to have flavor from the wood smoke, not the charcoal smoke. It seems to settle down after awhile, so I've learned that if I use my charcoal starter and get the coals going in there for about 20-30 min and then dump them into my smoker, that effect will be minimalized (is that even a word?). However, when I need to add new coals a couple of hours later to keep the temp up, the new coals start smoking again.

The charcoal smoke is overpowering the wood smoke.

Any help? I've got a guys only trip to the cottage this weekend and I plan to make 3 racks of baby backs as well as my first Boston Butt....I don't want to suffocate people with charcoal flavor. Thanks!

First, make sure you're using lump charcoal, not briquettes. Next, get your charcoal going in the chimney every time you add it, not just the first. Unlit charcoal added to a fire will smoke for a while. Also, make sure you're keeping your charcoal in a dry place. Charcoal will absorb moisture from the air, and damp charcoal takes longer to ignite and smokes alot more than dry. Hope this helps...

First, make sure you're using lump charcoal, not briquettes. Next, get your charcoal going in the chimney every time you add it, not just the first. Unlit charcoal added to a fire will smoke for a while. Also, make sure you're keeping your charcoal in a dry place. Charcoal will absorb moisture from the air, and damp charcoal takes longer to ignite and smokes alot more than dry. Hope this helps...