MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 04-13-2009, 12:48 PM   #1
ique
is Blowin Smoke!

Default Jambo Pit Owners Enter >>>

Has anyone installed rope gasket to get a better seal on the firebox?

Or installed silicone caulk around the doors?

I'm an OK cook, but when it come to stuff like this I'm all thumbs. Tried to install the silicone caulk but when I opened the doors about 1/2 of it pealed off.

Looking for advice on how to do this... thanks
ique is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-13-2009, 01:00 PM   #2
BBQchef33
Grand Poobah and Site Admin

Name/Nickname : Phil

Silicon caulk has to cure complety and needs a good surface to adhere to..M not sure if your sticking it to paint, but that may be an issue. You have to oil/season the opposite side of the door to keep it from sucking the chalk off.

look in fireplace stores(that carry wood burning stoves) for the fiberglass rope-tape that they use on woodburning stoves. its a flat rope abount and inch wide that works well on fireboxes. (I use it on the spicewine to seal the stoker adapter. iIf u cant find it let me know, and I will pick up a package and a local place and send it.

Or send me the jambo, and I will send you an FEC100 in return. :)