MMMM.. BRISKET..
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.  

Our Homepage Donation to Forum Overhead Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Amazon Affiliate
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, equipment and outdoor cookin' . ** Other cooking techniques are welcomed for when your cookin' in the kitchen. Post your hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures, but stay on topic and watch for that hijacking.

Old 04-12-2010, 12:07 PM   #1
NoviceBBQmovinUp
Knows what a fatty is.

Default question about foiling

My friend and i decided to each build a UDS. He found a drum much faster then i did so he is finished building and is smoking a butt today....

Anyways i have a quick question via my buddy, his internet is down so he cant look it up on the brethern and i am new to smoking so i dont want to try and answer from what i have read here and tell him something wrong.

his drum is running 225-235 or so. He has a maveric thermometer and he was wondering at what temp he should pull the meat off and foil it, and then how much longer he should leave it on the smoker after he foils.

I told him i just pull the meat off at 195 foil and throw it in a cooler, but i dont know much...however he said that he remembers reading that its better to foil earlier.

thanks
NoviceBBQmovinUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-12-2010, 12:12 PM   #2
Rookie'48
Quintessential Chatty Farker

You can do it that way or you can wrap it in a double layer of foil at 160* to 165* and put it back on the drum. Both ways work, but to test for doneness try to wiggle the bone rather than going by temp. I hope this helps.
Judge Number 6 competition BBQ team

Possibly the only judge ever to get an award from a bunch of cooks

UDS 075 UCB WSM and a bunch of other stuff.
Rookie'48 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thanks from:--->
Old 04-12-2010, 12:38 PM   #3
jetfxr27
is one Smokin' Farker