• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Newbie here - Questions about wood

snyper77

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
I'm in northeast Alabama. There are LOTS of trees down due to recent tornadoes and tropical storms. I have people offering me oak and hickory. I've already accumulated 2 chevy truck loads of hickory.

1. Should I get some oak also?
  2. Should I always mix oak (70%) with hickory (30%) or would the hickory be overbearing if I use it 100%?
I'm definitely going to get pecan and fruit wood if it's offered.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
:thumb:

I'd say get whatever you can if it's free and create yourself a nice stockpile of dried woods to use.

Depends on what you like to cook. I like oak and pecan for brisket. I use hickory for pork and sometimes for chicken. Hickory is definitely a strong wood, a little goes a long way for me. Never hurts to get some while you can though. If you end up not liking the taste of a certain wood you can always give it away free on craigslist.

I like to mix oak and hickory at about 80% oak and 20% hickory. Works really well. Don't pass up oak. It's also good by itself. So, yes, go for it!

Use oak for heat and hickory for smoke. But, oak for heat and smoke works good too.

I wish I had a situation like that! Oak is great. Hickory is my go-to, but I love 'em all. As mentioned already, I tend to go for the oak when doing beef. If I'm worrying about hitting the grub too hard with smoke, I'll start using apple or just even some lump. I've been loving pecan with chicken lately.

Oak is one of the best woods for bbq. It burns hot and long, has a nice mild smoke to it mixed with the hickory would be excellent

Yes.......yes........and yes! :heh:

100_0992.jpg

I would get as many varieties as you can and stockpile them- or participate in the brethren exchange.