A Gracious Good Morning to y'all

GVDub

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
Howdy! I've George Van Wagner, aka GVDub, and I've been grilling, in one fashion or another since I was a kid back when TVs only had 13 channels, and most of them were static.

I'm also a guitar-playing musician, recording engineer, producer, songwriter, half-assed music journalist and writer of (thus far) unpublished fiction.

I've done cooks on everything from a cheap supermarket hibachi to offset firebox smokers, and currently am cooking on a crappy, leaky, "temp control? What temp control" Home Depot grill and am looking to upgrade to something a little better.

I know, through the music connection, Sterling Ball from Big Poppa, and have been looking with interest at his UDS kit, but am also attracted to the PBC, so registered here to see what other folks have to say. Back before the economy melted down last decade, we had a house with a nice backyard and I had to chapped, channeled and heavily modified cheap offset smoker on which I would turn out a batch of Carolina-style pulled pork a couple of times a year and throw a bash. Hoping to get back to that, plus explore new things to put over a well-banked, slow-burning fire.

Welocme to the asylum, George!

Take a look around and if you have questions please feel free to contact the moderator team or our senior members. Their names are color coded so you can recognized them.

Also, each section of the forum has a description that you can use to figure out where to post.

Finally, please review our rules! They are pretty straight forward, but looking at them up front may help to eliminate problems later :-D

Oh! Don't forget to add your name to the Brethren Map, located at the top of this Cattle Call forum.

Most important, have fun and join in our conversations and share and learn!