• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

no smoke ring

AR Pork Producer

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
I'm new here, and have a question. I have a Masterbuilt electric smoker (I know, I know). I get wonderfull moist, smokey, tender food. But there is no smoke ring, On all other charcoal and electric smokers I always get a ring. What gives?

AR Pork Producer

That's the number one comment from folks with box smokers. I have 2 Big Chief box smokers, but they don't work that great in the winter months....I've considered getting a Cookshack for salmon and such, just don't know if I have the room. :biggrin:

The lack of smoke ring has to do with the amount of natural nitrates in wood smoke being less than in charcoal. You can add a couple of briquettes to your wood pan, or doctor a brisket for example with Tenderquick. It has enough nitrates to give the ring a head start. Folks with ceramic cookers can add a couple of briquettes on top of the lump too because lump has fewer nitrates than the briquettes.

DSC08334a.jpg

If you try the TQ, sprinkle some on the meat side of the brisket for 10 minutes. Rinse it off and return the brisket to the fridge for 1 hour. Then season and cook as usual.​

Mr thirdeye nailed it,

but I would also never use (and never do) a mustard slather before applying the rub.

It provides an impenetrable barrier that will prevent entry.

My wife gave me that tip.

(ducking)

Thanks,
I have been using mustard. I'll try the next butt without it and see how it does. The masterbuilt that I have is digital and is insulated. It seems to do pretty good in the winter. I like the set it and forget it aspect of it. I have done boston butts that have taken up to 18 hours to cook at 200-220 degrees and have gotten a good night sleep.

Welcome fellow Arkie! When looking for a good smokering just follow whatever Thirdeye says! He is da master!

Thanks,