i know most of you don't like frozen bbq....

deepsouth

somebody shut me the fark up.
Reaction score
i know most of you don't like frozen bbq (reheated of course), but my last two cooks have yielded more Q than i could eat (gave my parents some, but still had leftovers) so i've got a slab and a half of spares and thre quart bags of pulled pork in the freezer.

i can't say i dislike the idea of waking up in the morning, pulling out some Q and coming home for dinner with very minimal work to do to have a some delicous bbq!

i seem to always have too much pulled pork (is this possible?), so i always freeze some for later, but this is my first time to freeze ribs.

i may start cooking extra of a few things with the intent of freezing it. does anyone else do this? what do you cook extra to freeze?

I always try to stash away some pork or brisket cause I know I'll get a craving for it later on when I don't have the time to smoke some. At least a quart bag full.

Course now that I got a dedicated freezer, this may need to change. Just need the vac sealer.

Bob

Last edited:
At any given time I may have 20 lbs of vac sealed and frozen pulled pork or brisket. It will be good three years from now.

I've thought about doing this myself. I always cook way too much because I don't get to do it often and like variety.

Others have posted about doing it in other forums before. Hopefully they'll chime in.

Get a good vac sealer! The stuff will last much longer. We freeze leftovers all of the time, especially during comp season. Sure it's not as good as fresh, but it's nice to have something on hand for a quick meal or for chili, enchiladas, etc.

I have 2 - 6# pork butts, 2 - 4# pork loins, 4 - 1# fatty chubs, and 4 bone in chicken breasts thawing for this weekends cook.

There are two of us.

Chicken, fatties, and 1/2 of one loin will get eaten, the rest is vacu-sucking into pre-portioned amounts.

Pulled pork, enchiladas, etc's worth of amounts.