If I wanted a smoker..............

K I N G P I N

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
What would I get??
Something for the backyard.
Something that can stay out in the weather(garage is full)
Something around $1250.00 to $1750.00.
No need to go broke.
Want the best bang for my money
The GOSM I have is inefficient as hell in wood consumption.
Thats a factor.
I have a problem with high maintenance, IE: Wood or charcoal refillability

Go with a stick burner... I recommend a Lang 60 Patio.... $1,795 + Shipping

I'm not an expert on all the different pits out there, but the first question is what kind of capacity do you need? How many butts/ribs? Must a chuck roll fit, etc.

Looking at your low maintenance requirements, I'd say that a chest smoker (backwoods, spicewine, etc), pellet smoker (traeger, FEC, Country Smoker, etc), or gravity fed charcoal smoker (stump's) is your best bet.

Looking at cost, which you mentioned, consider shipping. Some really nice pits out there are too big and heavy to ship UPS, and freight is expensive too! My local Ace Hardware sells Traeger and my local Viking store sells Stumps. Spicewine is within driving distance, and Backwoods seem to be small enough to be shippable. Some one had a Used FEC-100 in town here for $1,800 last week I think (Gone now). Seems to fit many of your requirements if you can find one.

These are just some things to consider. As I said, not an expert enough to
give you full guidence. Some might tell you that a UDS fulfills all of your requirements *shrug*

dmp

Might I suggest a Backwoods Party? :cool:

*Disclaimer* I am an extremely happy Party owner therefore extremely biased

If you dont like tending fire all day a vertical water type smoker is right up your alley. i can load mine up with charcoal/wood chunks and let her run for 10 hours, and Im a newb with mine. The price is right in your range, and you have a dealer in your area. A cover is available, so storing in the yard is not an issue.