Humbled

monty3777

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
My first two comps this year have been a real eye opener. This is my first year trying to do comps solo (with a LOT of help from Jeff's brother, Jason to be sure). I figured it would be a challenge, but I had no idea how difficult it is to manage all the things necessary to cook all four KCBS categories. It was easy to blame my NKC showing on the 40% CBJs, but Smokin on Big Creek was a great contest, full of CBJs and my results were the same. Bottom of the pack and an aching back :heh:

To those of you who pay all the costs, set-up, prep, maintain fires, cook all 4 categories, turn-in, and clean up by yourself or with a helper, then drive 6 hours home, hats off to you! I'm not man enough - I'm sticking with my team :thumb: Monty's Little Monsters is a done deal. The kids would rather go fishing and shoot their BB gun anyway.

Also, I'm sorry if I missed folks who needed knives sharpened. I spent the entire weekend trying to figure out what comes next and I didn't leave myself enough time. Sorry :icon_blush:

I know the feeling as I have cooked by myself for the most part on occasion. Because these events are smaller over here it isn't so bad but I do feel your pain. It has made me get VERY organized and learned to do without some items for when the full team is present.

Oh man don't give it up so soon. I am usually sitting around or out socializing on Friday and the only time I wish i had a second pair of hands is probably 10am - 2pm for turn ins and loading the trailer.

Are you prepping everything before the comp? That is a huge time saver.

Oh man don't give it up so soon. I am usually sitting around or out socializing on Friday and the only time I wish i had a second pair of hands is probably 10am - 2pm for turn ins and loading the trailer.

Are you prepping everything before the comp? That is a huge time saver.

I'm not giving up. Just going back to what works. :thumb: