logo

So you want to make 125 gal of Brunswick stew today?

beerguy

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
As some of you know, Brauma and his church edlers have been making Brunswick stew as a church fundraiser for the last 30 yrs or so. Brauma is now the chief cook, as the elders are in there late 70's and early 80's. I've been helping out for at least 12 years off and on, and this has gotten bigger and better every year. This year they had seven cast iron pots, that averaged 18 gals apiece, fueled only by wood and stirred with birdeyes maple "oars" that Brauma's dad made 30 years ago. To me, it's like stepping back in time, to a Norman Rockwell scene, a piece of Americana, as a rural church comes together with fellowship and fun, and a lot of hard work and long hours in order to raise money for community service throughout the year. I hope you enjoy these pictures and feel some pride that America still exists as it did when we were kids, even though it's a different world.

Brunswickstew08004.jpg

Brunswickstew08003.jpg

Brunswickstew08006.jpg

Brunswickstew08007.jpg

Wow. How many people do you think you fed? Looks like a pretty hot job. Nice work.

Lots of hard work for a great cause.
Thanks to all the folks who pitched in to make this great project work.
That looks like contious stirring with that amount of heat applied to those cast iron pots.
I would have loved to tried the stew, heard its great but nothing like that around these parts of the country.

Wow. How many people do you think you fed? Looks like a pretty hot job. Nice work.

Not sure how many people. We made approx 300 quarts plus 17.62 bowls :wink: (inside joke)

Here are a few more pics

Stew08005Medium.jpg

My dad - the original stewmaster

Stew08006Medium.jpg

Rick aka BeerGuy

Stew08012Medium.jpg

Rick "quarting" the stew

Stew08013Medium.jpg

The band. Bluegrass of course

Stew08015Medium.jpg

Our humble little church built 1927

Stew08017Medium.jpg