• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Trouble keeping temps up on my UDS

sterling_bbq

Got Wood.
Reaction score
I just finished my UDS last week. I'm brand new to smoking. I have 3 1" holes about 2" from the bottom and 8 1/4" exhaust vents in the lid. I use ceramic magnets to cover the vents. My thermometer is just below the grill and is about 2" long. I've read that the outside of the barrel tends to be about 50 degrees cooler than the center but I have a 16" charcoal basket so I didn't think it would be that big of a difference.

I took it for a test run with no meat to season it (vegetable oil rubbed on the inside) and get a feel for temps. I did a hand test and didn't notice any difference in temp near the center and near the edge. During the test I kept all exhaust vents on the lid wide open. With one intake vent open the temperature held steady at 225 for 30 minutes. I to another vent off and it went up to 275 over the course of 15 minutes. Held steady there for 30 minutes before opening the last vent. Held steady at 350 until I closed all vents. Within 2 hours it was back down to room temperature. I was feeling pretty pumped. She held temp like a dream and was easy to control.