THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

snyper77

Full Fledged Farker
Well, I'm a noob and I recently bought ALL the ingredients in the 3 recipes below.
I made all 3 recipes, but they just didn't "do it" for me.

I must say, as I'm writing this, something just dawned on me: The best bottle sauce I've tried is Kraft's Spicy Honey....and NONE of these recipes call for honey. :doh:

I'm looking for a sauce that's kinda sweet with a nice pepper kick, but not too overpowering. Just want to compliment a good butt or chicken.

I've made the following:

----BBQ-Pit-Boys Sauce----(Was too vinegary - lacked a bbq flavor)
2 Quarts Ketchup (64oz.)
2 cups Apple Cider Vinegar
1/2 cup Sugar
1-2 tbs. Garlic Powder
1 tbs. Celery Seed
1 tbs. Ground Cumin
1 tbs. Chili Powder
1-2 tbs.Cayenne Powder
1/8th cup Coarse Salt
1/2-1 cup Water

--------Big Al's KC BBQ Sauce-----(smells like tomato sauce, not much bbq flavor)
2 cups ketchup
2 cups tomato sauce
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
1 1/4 cups red wine vinegar
1/2 cup unsulfured molasses
4 teaspoons hickory-flavored liquid smoke
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon celery seed
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper

-----Memphis Style-----(molasses and Worcestershire was strong)
1 cup ketchup (Heinz)
1/2 cup molasses
1/2 cup apple-cider vinegar
1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground mustard
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper