Brethren Awards at Comps???

U2CANQUE

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
As I am not a newbie, been a member for a while, but, was like a voyeur at the nude beach for a loooooooong time, and then, the damn busted, and recently, I spend a lot of time meeting folks here, giving what input I have, and taking in the camaraderie that I have started to appreciate.

I like that there is something to being a Brethren, more so than that of just being a member of a discussion board...it is something that I am taking pride in sharing not only the love of BBQ, but, all that seems to come along with it.

What I was wondering (as I am working on getting a contest for 2009 in Cleveland) is that has there in the past been a "Brethren of the Comp" award? A score card, in your opinions would look like what? I do want your opinion, because I think that it would not only be a way of being recognized by fellow Brethren, but, also a tool to spread the guidelines, and expectations of what it means to be Brethren.

I was thinking about having the voting be not only among Brethren members at the contest, but, kind of a People's Choice type of card, you know, kind of, rate how the team tent was in accessibility, cleanliness, willing to discuss BBQ, hospitable...etc...etc.....

Just one of my many thoughts (hey, not a lot of psych patients tonight in the ER, so why not come here, where ummmmm, yeah, there may be one or two customers around here :biggrin:)

I look forward to responses or, experiences with this type of thing in the past.....

Thanks

I'm not sure if I'm following you exactly, but if you are contemplating an award of some type at competitions for the team that most exemplifies the spirit of the Brethren, I think it's a fantastic idea. Would you limit it to Brethren at the comp or would it be open to all teams?

Eric

Thanks for the inquiry and idea. Nothing like this has previously been done.