no heat!!!!

firemedic

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Well I stumbled acroass this forum while researching to build an offset reverse flow and was amazed by the UDS. It seemed too simple to be true but I got the stuff together and built one this am. The build really was that easy but I'm struggling with temps. It initially heated up to about 230 then dropped to 190. I have three 1/2" nipples and a 1/2" ball valve- all open, and four 1/2" holes drilled in the lid. I plugged three of the holes in the lid with foil and temps came up to 200 but it is holding steady. I am burning charcoal briquettes and pecan wood chunks that I started with the minion method. There wasn't much smoke after about 25 minutes so I dumped on a bit more wood which has increased the smoke but not the temp. Help! By the way this is my first time bbqing EVER (grilling doesn't count). Thanks,

geoff

Sounds like you don't have enough exhaust to create a good air flow for the charcoal to burn.

I agree^^^^^^
you need to double the amount of exhaust holes in your lid.

I'm not sure. That was my first thought but when I unplugged the vent holes my temp started dropping then climbed again when i replugged them. When I checked the coals earlier it didn't look like my original chimney had spread much to the 10 lbs or so I put in the barrel so I threw a little more wood and just added another half chimney to the pile. Temps are currently at 230, hopefully it holds. I unplugged the vents when I added more charcoal, too. Thanks for your help!!

N8, do you want more exhaust than intakes? I was under the impression they should be about the same but I'm brand new at this...

On my Drum, normally my air intake which is a 1" pipe, is opened about a 1/4 to a 1/2 inch and my exhaust is a 2" diameter pipe threaded into the bung on the lid.

attachment.php

attachment.php

If my math is right that's about 400 percent more exhaust than intake.