A Butt Question.....

Single Fin Smoker

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
Ok so let me peface this with I'm still a rookie at this....

How do you know when the butts done? For a function at my house this Sunday, I cooked two 7-8 pound bone in butts today. I plan to reheat them in the oven with some beef stock for moisture. They didn't say 'picnic' on the package.

Anyhoo, I saw on food channel that smoked butts are done when you can pull the shoulder bone right out of them with no meat attached. Is this true?

Today I cooked mine to internal temp of 165-170, which according to my themometer is done for pork. However, I pulled on both bones, they (sticking out a 1/4 inch from the meat) weren't gonna come out easy. Still pretty hot though.

By the way* these babys are resting as I type this.

Oh yeah, baby I shaved me a nice tester piece off over some rolls. Ya know, to make sure I got the flavor right........MMMMMMMMmmmmmmMMMMMMM!!! Damn Butts are good!!!!!
Even for a rookie dumb arse like me!!!

At that Temp those baby's are NOT done. You need to get them to around 195-200*.Then I like to give them a rest for a bit wrapped in foil and in a cooler.
You should be able to pull the bone out,and they should pull apart very easy.

As for reheating, there's a number of answers ...I like to pull mine ,bag cool or freeze .then reheat with a little apple juice and a pinch or two of my rub..just until heated through, and for that small an amount ..I'd personally heat the meat back up on the stove top in a large skillet with a lid.

Give it a try and let us know what happens.
Good luck,
John

The good news is when the bone slips free, they are done. Chalk one up for the food channel.

7c583015.jpg

The bad news is, they need to go to an internal of 195° to 200° before they are pullable. Any chance of you putting them back on the cooker or into the oven? It will take about 4 to 6 hours to finish them off. Faster if you foil them.