ブタ
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 07-10-2013, 10:39 AM   #1
Unfathomable Bastid
On the road to being a farker

 
Join Date: 09-23-10
Location: Commerce Township, Michigan
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default WSM Thermometer Probe Length?

Hey Brethren:

Thinking of installing a couple grate-level thermometers on my 22.5" WSM this weekend, and was wondering if there's consensus on the ideal probe length. They apparently come in a variety of different lengths.

Thanks!

-Bastid
__________________
WSM 22.5"/DigiQ DX2 (I cheat )
UDS Smoker (built myself though I'm a moron)
Weber Performer 22.5" - Charcoal
Weber Genesis E-310 - Gas
Weber Smokey Joe (A RED one!)
Unfathomable Bastid is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-10-2013, 10:55 AM   #2
Cayman1
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 07-20-12
Location: Springfield, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I would think 3"-5" would be ok. It will get you past the very edge that is a little hotter than the center due to the way heat circulates in the weber.
__________________
Smooth Smoke BBQ Team, KCBS CBJ, 2-WSM, Cajun Bandit Conversion, wsm 2880, Smokey Joe Mini wsm, Old Country offset, several kettles.
Cayman1 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-10-2013, 12:31 PM   #3
BobM
Babbling Farker

 
Join Date: 02-16-12
Location: Long Island, NY
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I did this thermometer mod to my WSMs, they have 3" stems.
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...07#post2299407
__________________
"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." - Benjamin Franklin
| Weber 18 1/2" & 22 1/2" WSM, 22 1/2" & 26 3/4" OTG, Genesis S-330 |
| BBQ Guru CyberQ WiFi
| Maverick ET-732 |
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-10-2013, 12:48 PM   #4
yakdung
is one Smokin' Farker
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: Houston, Texas
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

http://www.thermoworks.com/products/...emp_timer.html
yakdung is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-10-2013, 12:48 PM   #5
Unfathomable Bastid
On the road to being a farker

 
Join Date: 09-23-10
Location: Commerce Township, Michigan
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobM View Post
I did this thermometer mod to my WSMs, they have 3" stems.
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...07#post2299407
Thanks Bob! Interesting that you installed your probes "below" grate level. I was planning on installing mine just above the grates, acknowledging the concern that the probes could theoretically touch the food. I was just planning on positioning food around them.

-Bastid
__________________
WSM 22.5"/DigiQ DX2 (I cheat )
UDS Smoker (built myself though I'm a moron)
Weber Performer 22.5" - Charcoal
Weber Genesis E-310 - Gas
Weber Smokey Joe (A RED one!)
Unfathomable Bastid is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-10-2013, 01:41 PM   #6
Unfathomable Bastid
On the road to being a farker

 
Join Date: 09-23-10
Location: Commerce Township, Michigan
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Seems like I'd want at least a 4" probe (no jokes please) for fear that taking readings too close to the side of the cooker would be 25-50 degrees hotter than a couple inches further towards the middle.

Am I incorrect in assuming this?

Of course, if I choose anything larger than 3" and plan on installing it above the cooking grate, I could be sacrificing quite a bit of cooking real estate. Hmmm...

-Bastid
__________________
WSM 22.5"/DigiQ DX2 (I cheat )
UDS Smoker (built myself though I'm a moron)
Weber Performer 22.5" - Charcoal
Weber Genesis E-310 - Gas
Weber Smokey Joe (A RED one!)
Unfathomable Bastid is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-10-2013, 03:31 PM   #7
Cayman1
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 07-20-12
Location: Springfield, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Why not do the grommets and just put the thermometer in when you need to read the temp? I would be concerned mounting it would get in the way of taking the grate out. BobM should be able to address that for you.
__________________
Smooth Smoke BBQ Team, KCBS CBJ, 2-WSM, Cajun Bandit Conversion, wsm 2880, Smokey Joe Mini wsm, Old Country offset, several kettles.
Cayman1 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-11-2013, 08:32 AM   #8
BobM
Babbling Farker

 
Join Date: 02-16-12
Location: Long Island, NY
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayman1 View Post
Why not do the grommets and just put the thermometer in when you need to read the temp?
You can do that and it works well. For convenience I wanted something permanent.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayman1 View Post
I would be concerned mounting it would get in the way of taking the grate out. BobM should be able to address that for you.
You have to tilt the grates on a slight angle when you put them in or take them out, but it's no big deal.
__________________
"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." - Benjamin Franklin
| Weber 18 1/2" & 22 1/2" WSM, 22 1/2" & 26 3/4" OTG, Genesis S-330 |
| BBQ Guru CyberQ WiFi
| Maverick ET-732 |
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-11-2013, 09:15 AM   #9
Unfathomable Bastid
On the road to being a farker

 
Join Date: 09-23-10
Location: Commerce Township, Michigan
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I might be going overboard on this whole idea since I also use the DigiQ DX2 temperature management system which has a pit probe. I just like the idea of having a second ACCURATE thermometer installed to tell me temps independently of the computer. And I also like the way the installed thermometer looks on the unit.

It's like airliners with GPS navigation units still having vacuum pumps running their analog instruments. You don't need them -- until you need them.

-Bastid
__________________
WSM 22.5"/DigiQ DX2 (I cheat )
UDS Smoker (built myself though I'm a moron)
Weber Performer 22.5" - Charcoal
Weber Genesis E-310 - Gas
Weber Smokey Joe (A RED one!)
Unfathomable Bastid is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-11-2013, 09:28 AM   #10
oldbill
is One Chatty Farker

 
oldbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-30-13
Location: Kyle, TX
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I usually see therms with two or four inch stems and my pick would be the four inch because I would want to see what the temp is as close to where the cooking is being done as possible.
__________________
Never Trust A Skinny Cook!!!
oldbill is online now   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-11-2013, 09:38 AM   #11
Unfathomable Bastid
On the road to being a farker

 
Join Date: 09-23-10
Location: Commerce Township, Michigan
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldbill View Post
I usually see therms with two or four inch stems and my pick would be the four inch because I would want to see what the temp is as close to where the cooking is being done as possible.
Yeah, I believe a minimum of 3" probe is necessary. 4" is my preferred length. The question remains as to whether the install should be below or above the grate.

Personally, I think it should be above the grate as that's likely to have a more correct temp reading, and would also avoid dripping foods.

-Bastid
__________________
WSM 22.5"/DigiQ DX2 (I cheat )
UDS Smoker (built myself though I'm a moron)
Weber Performer 22.5" - Charcoal
Weber Genesis E-310 - Gas
Weber Smokey Joe (A RED one!)
Unfathomable Bastid is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 07-11-2013, 09:42 AM   #12
oldbill
is One Chatty Farker

 
oldbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-30-13
Location: Kyle, TX
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unfathomable Bastid View Post
Yeah, I believe a minimum of 3" probe is necessary. 4" is my preferred length. The question remains as to whether the install should be below or above the grate.

Personally, I think it should be above the grate as that's likely to have a more correct temp reading, and would also avoid dripping foods.

-Bastid
Yeah definitely above the grate as close to the level of the food area as possible.
__________________
Never Trust A Skinny Cook!!!
oldbill is online now   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts