ಚಿಕನ್
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Brethren Sales and Ventures > Brethren Ventures > Gravity Fed smokers and Grills

Notices

Gravity Fed smokers and Grills We are the inventors of these Gravity Fed Smokers and Grills. Innovative and efficient, these BBQ Grills and smokers can burn multi-fuel of charcoal, Wood Pellet, Wood Chunks, Wood Logs and reach temps of 300C or 572 F.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 05-18-2013, 09:44 PM   #166
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
must be bad soldering on the connector, please open and check it.
In next production, I will change to a new connector
I will see what I can do. I was able to remove three of the four screws, still working on the fourth. Looks like it's been in and out a few times, as though someone already tried to fix it.
pixcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-18-2013, 11:23 PM   #167
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

The problem is with both probes. Would a bad solder connection on one cause that?
pixcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-19-2013, 01:23 AM   #168
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I mean bad soldering on probe connectors. You need only to check the probe side, not the wGrill itsself
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2013, 11:31 AM   #169
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
I mean bad soldering on probe connectors. You need only to check the probe side, not the wGrill itsself
Looks like you might be right. I opened up the plug, heated up the solder, and tried it. It seemed to work better, until I close up the plug again and it stops. I will next try a different plug.

Last edited by pixcolor; 05-20-2013 at 01:22 PM..
pixcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2013, 11:20 PM   #170
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I put new plugs on and got it working, but then decided to have a look at the settings. Don't know if I changed anything, but now alll I get is ---1 as temp readings. Did I change something?
pixcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 12:49 AM   #171
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

please reset to default
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 12:50 AM   #172
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
please reset to default
How?
pixcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 11:05 AM   #173
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Left it off over night and when I turn it on it seems OK, for about 10 minutes, then it stops again. I think I'm ready to give up.
pixcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 11:55 AM   #174
Ron_L
Moderator
 
Ron_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-09-04
Location: Chicago 'Burbs
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
Obviously this v1 needs upgraded to V2 for advanced users.
I accept return and refund. I will pay shipping cost
Please let me know how I can return the wGrill units that I purchased for a refund.

My application is to connect these to my Wifi network and you assured me that this would be possible. The details of that conversation are here...

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...&postcount=112

I have tried three different wifi routers (2Wire, Linksys and Dlink) and none of them support an ascii password for the WEP key and the wGrill does not support an open network (no security). So, it will not work on my wifi network, even if I added a second access point just for the wGrill. At least one other user has seen the same thing.

In addition, there seems to be issues with the availability of the batteries in the US. Even though the unit will run without batteries, if it requires batteries that we can't find, you may as well leave that capability off

One note for future versions... The cord on the wall adapter is way too short. It should be twice as long.
__________________
"Ron Rico, Boss. You can call me Captain Ron..."

**** In the Greater Chicago Area? Join us for the Annual Northern Illinois Brethren Mid Winter Gathering - Jan. 24th, 2015

The Naked Fatty!

Equipment list temporarily removed
Ron_L is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 12:21 PM   #175
Hedgeley
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 03-23-13
Location: Hamilton ON Canada
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Just a thought....

please reset to default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixcolor View Post
How?
refer to "manual" (such that it is)

Reset to Default

1, Turn off the power. No battery is inside
2, Press button of“<”and HOLD
3, Turn on the power, it will show“1” “2” “3”,then release button of“<“
4, Back to default

in case you haven't seen it here's the link

http://allchinas.com/wgrill/wgrill-manual.doc

Guess we're all beta testers.
Anyway, if it doesn't work as expected, you should return it.
BUT.... I really don't know if woodpelletsmoker understands the potential of this device. BBQ is one app, but think about those of you who go away for a bit and would like to monitor Temperatures of stuff on the internet. Like those of us in the Great White North who go away and hope that our furnace doesn't fail, and if it does, would like an alarm to alert us before the water pipes burst, and destroy our home.
This could be big business. I don't have the money, but I'd back it if I could. Perhaps Woodpelletsmoker could instead of selling these things to the bbq guys would say "hey - for $100 you get a unit to test and a piece of the action"

Just a thought.
Hedge

btw WPS - the manual is woefully inadequate for a potential retail customer. I'm guessing you're an engineer. You need someone to test this and write one for you.

Good luck.
Hedgeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 02:04 PM   #176
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.

 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Reset and same thing. O.K for about 10 minutes then no temperature reading.
pixcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 07:23 PM   #177
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker
 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

we are working hard on V2.
Old buyer can either return and ask for refund
or wait for wGrill V2
V2 will add built-in clock, graphing up to 20 hours, and plug&play connecting to Internet.
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 07:37 PM   #178
Ron_L
Moderator
 
Ron_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-09-04
Location: Chicago 'Burbs
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
we are working hard on V2.
Old buyer can either return and ask for refund
or wait for wGrill V2
V2 will add built-in clock, graphing up to 20 hours, and plug&play connecting to Internet.
What does plug and play connection to the internet mean? Right now V1 won't connect to an existing Wifi network. That's what most of us care about. If I can get it to connect to my wifi network I'm happy. I can get it onto the internet if I really want to.

In order to connect it to my home network without me having to add a second access point V2 would have to support WPA-PSK (TKIP) or WPA2-PSK (AES). I can add a second access point (but would prefer not to) but then V2 would have to support an open network (no encryption) or WEP 64 or 128 with a hex password.

Here is what the CyberQ Wifi supports.
  • WEP - Wired Equivalent Privacy. Supposed to give roughly the same level of security as a wired network. This was the original
  • security setting on wireless networks. In the CyberQ Wifi it must be a value containing the characters 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,A,B,C,D,E,F
  • (hexadecimal value). WEP 40 requires 10 Characters, WEP104 requires 26 characters.
  • WPA - Wi-Fi Protected Access. Provides better encryption than WEP and also has user authentication.
  • WPA2 - a more secure version of WPA which provides "government grade" security. There are two versions of WPA2 - Personal &
  • Enterprise.
  • WPA AUTO – Automatically selects a WPA or WPA2 network
  • WPA or WPA2 PASS – Uses a pass phrase instead of hex values.
  • OPEN – No Encryption pass required.

The CyberQ Wifi works just fine on my network.
__________________
"Ron Rico, Boss. You can call me Captain Ron..."

**** In the Greater Chicago Area? Join us for the Annual Northern Illinois Brethren Mid Winter Gathering - Jan. 24th, 2015

The Naked Fatty!

Equipment list temporarily removed
Ron_L is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 07:43 PM   #179
Toronto
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 09-12-12
Location: Toronto
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron_L View Post
What does plug and play connection to the internet mean? Right now V1 won't connect to an existing Wifi network. That's what most of us care about. If I can get it to connect to my wifi network I'm happy. I can get it onto the internet if I really want to.

In order to connect it to my home network without me having to add a second access point V2 would have to support WPA-PSK (TKIP) or WPA2-PSK (AES). I can add a second access point (but would prefer not to) but then V2 would have to support an open network (no encryption) or WEP 64 or 128 with a hex password.

Here is what the CyberQ Wifi supports.
  • WEP - Wired Equivalent Privacy. Supposed to give roughly the same level of security as a wired network. This was the original
  • security setting on wireless networks. In the CyberQ Wifi it must be a value containing the characters 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,A,B,C,D,E,F
  • (hexadecimal value). WEP 40 requires 10 Characters, WEP104 requires 26 characters.
  • WPA - Wi-Fi Protected Access. Provides better encryption than WEP and also has user authentication.
  • WPA2 - a more secure version of WPA which provides "government grade" security. There are two versions of WPA2 - Personal &
  • Enterprise.
  • WPA AUTO – Automatically selects a WPA or WPA2 network
  • WPA or WPA2 PASS – Uses a pass phrase instead of hex values.
  • OPEN – No Encryption pass required.

The CyberQ Wifi works just fine on my network.
Based on his earlier post about V2 it should be based in ZIGBEE.

The ZIGBEE site has an FAQ that may be of use to you: http://www.zigbee.org/Specifications/ZigBee/FAQ.aspx
Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2013, 07:48 PM   #180
Ron_L
Moderator
 
Ron_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-09-04
Location: Chicago 'Burbs
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toronto View Post
Based on his earlier post about V2 it should be based in ZIGBEE.

The ZIGBEE site has an FAQ that may be of use to you: http://www.zigbee.org/Specifications/ZigBee/FAQ.aspx
And then a few posts later he said he would retain wifi.

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...&postcount=107

Zigbee is absolutely worthless to me. There isn't a single device in my house that supports Zigbee, so I would require an external adapter for my laptop, iPhone and iPad.

If V2 only supports Zigbee then I want to return what I have for a refund. I may want to do that anyway, but Zigbee only support is a killer.
__________________
"Ron Rico, Boss. You can call me Captain Ron..."

**** In the Greater Chicago Area? Join us for the Annual Northern Illinois Brethren Mid Winter Gathering - Jan. 24th, 2015

The Naked Fatty!

Equipment list temporarily removed
Ron_L is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.