ブタ
The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Q-talk

Notices

Q-talk *ON TOPIC ONLY* QUALITY ON TOPIC discussion of Backyard BBQ, grilling, Equipment and just outdoor cookin' in general, hints, tips, tricks & techniques, success, failures... but stay on topic. And watch for that hijacking.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 03-20-2013, 09:03 PM   #1
gapabral
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

 
Join Date: 09-29-10
Location: St. Louis, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Auber Temp Controller for WSM- Alligator Clip

Just got the Auber two days ago and have done two practice cooks using my WSM.

According to the company, they recommend running the alligator clip through the dome of the lid. Although this works, it is very difficult to take the dome off and put back on again.

I would love to hear what other brethren that have the Auber and WSM are doing with the alligator clip.

thank you
gapabral is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-21-2013, 06:00 AM   #2
ButtBurner
Babbling Farker

 
ButtBurner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-18-12
Location: Dearborn Mi, Manton Mi
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gapabral View Post
Just got the Auber two days ago and have done two practice cooks using my WSM.

According to the company, they recommend running the alligator clip through the dome of the lid. Although this works, it is very difficult to take the dome off and put back on again.

I would love to hear what other brethren that have the Auber and WSM are doing with the alligator clip.

thank you
I dont have a WSM but I have a Master Forge smoker that is very similar, in fact I call it my WSM clone.

I just run it out a corner of the door. Its a great ATC
ButtBurner is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-21-2013, 06:50 AM   #3
Cayman1
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 07-20-12
Location: Springfield, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I sometimes hang it through the lid vent and other times run it under the lid and clip to the grate. I generally hang in lid vent when I put a lot of big cold meat pieces on to cook. My thought, and i have nothing to support this, is that the cold meat so close to the probe may give a lower reading umtil the meat heats up.
__________________
Smooth Smoke BBQ Team, KCBS CBJ, 2-WSM, Cajun Bandit Conversion, wsm 2880, Smokey Joe Mini wsm, Old Country offset, several kettles.
Cayman1 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-21-2013, 07:35 AM   #4
gapabral
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

 
Join Date: 09-29-10
Location: St. Louis, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I like both of those ideas. If you did not have to do anything during the entire cook running it through the dome vent would be okay. However, if you have to foil ribs or spritz something, it is very inconvenient.

I had thought about running it under the dome lid but did not know if it would get pinched and damage the probe wire.

sure appreciate your ideas. very helpful.
gapabral is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-21-2013, 08:24 AM   #5
Cayman1
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 07-20-12
Location: Springfield, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I don't go through the lid vent when I am in the portion of the cook where I am spritzing the ribs. Only when they are in foil. Generally ribs and chicken aren't such a big piece of meat as to affect the temp around the probe.
I always do for the initial 4 hours of cooking the briskets and butts unfoiled.
__________________
Smooth Smoke BBQ Team, KCBS CBJ, 2-WSM, Cajun Bandit Conversion, wsm 2880, Smokey Joe Mini wsm, Old Country offset, several kettles.
Cayman1 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-21-2013, 08:54 AM   #6
smokeacholic
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 03-23-08
Location: Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Drill a hole just below where the grate sits and feed the probe thru then install the clip and attach to the grate. Works great.
__________________
smokealcholic
smokeacholic is offline   Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Thanks from:--->
Unread 03-22-2013, 07:32 AM   #7
gapabral
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

 
Join Date: 09-29-10
Location: St. Louis, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Does it make a difference on where you place the alligator clip on the grill?
gapabral is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-22-2013, 07:50 AM   #8
AustinKnight
is One Chatty Farker

 
AustinKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-23-10
Location: Austin Texas
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Auber Temp Controller for WSM- Alligator Clip

I don't know if the clip will run through this but bbq guru can answer that or someone here might be able to. But something like this is what you want, and the best place for your clip is on the grate not touching the meat also look at the virtual bullet Weber forum for mods.

http://virtualweberbullet.com/moretherm.html

http://store.thebbqguru.com/weborder...let%20Assembly

Sent from my SGH-T999
__________________
|HOOK'EM UDS|MINI UDS|22.5 WEBER PERF|B&B|OAK & PECAN|DIGIQ|TW8060|THERMAPEN ORANGE|Char-Griller Akorn|Thin Blue Smokery|
AustinKnight is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-22-2013, 07:54 AM   #9
ButtBurner
Babbling Farker

 
ButtBurner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-18-12
Location: Dearborn Mi, Manton Mi
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gapabral View Post
Does it make a difference on where you place the alligator clip on the grill?
I just keep mine and inch or two away from the meat

the important thing is try not to have it too close to the meat to affect the reading, expecially if the meat is cold when you put it on
ButtBurner is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-22-2013, 10:13 AM   #10
Cayman1
Full Fledged Farker
 
Join Date: 07-20-12
Location: Springfield, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gapabral View Post
Does it make a difference on where you place the alligator clip on the grill?
I try to keep it away from the meat and away from the very edge of the grate because of the way heat circulates in the wsm.

The clip will not fit through a 1/8" pipe nipple if that is what you plan to use.
__________________
Smooth Smoke BBQ Team, KCBS CBJ, 2-WSM, Cajun Bandit Conversion, wsm 2880, Smokey Joe Mini wsm, Old Country offset, several kettles.
Cayman1 is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-30-2013, 02:13 PM   #11
gapabral
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

 
Join Date: 09-29-10
Location: St. Louis, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Had to send the first auber back because either the blower or controller did not work properly. When the red light would turn on the blower did not come on. Customer service is really good. Temperatures were all over the place

So they send me a new controller and it seems to being working well EXCEPT
my temperature is set to 275 but the grate temperature is running at 300. I have changed the location of the alligator clip to three different positions and it is still running at the 300 degrees.

I am 2 inches from the closest rib.

Any ideas?

Thank you
Gary
gapabral is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-30-2013, 02:40 PM   #12
ButtBurner
Babbling Farker

 
ButtBurner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-18-12
Location: Dearborn Mi, Manton Mi
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gapabral View Post
Had to send the first auber back because either the blower or controller did not work properly. When the red light would turn on the blower did not come on. Customer service is really good. Temperatures were all over the place

So they send me a new controller and it seems to being working well EXCEPT
my temperature is set to 275 but the grate temperature is running at 300. I have changed the location of the alligator clip to three different positions and it is still running at the 300 degrees.

I am 2 inches from the closest rib.

Any ideas?

Thank you
Gary
how do you know its running at 300? a separate thermometer?

I have experience with this controller, I can help you
ButtBurner is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-30-2013, 02:58 PM   #13
gapabral
Is lookin for wood to cook with.

 
Join Date: 09-29-10
Location: St. Louis, MO
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

yes. I have an oven thermometer placed on the grate
gapabral is offline   Reply With Quote


Unread 03-30-2013, 03:17 PM   #14
ButtBurner
Babbling Farker

 
ButtBurner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-18-12
Location: Dearborn Mi, Manton Mi
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

what I would try is to put the auber in boiling water and make sure its incorrect.

If it does not read 212 f or close then an offset needs to be programmed into the controller to compensate for the error.

this is simple to do, probably be easier to help you through PM's if you need me to help

I had to do this too

start by making sure that its not correct.
ButtBurner is offline   Reply With Quote


Thanks from:--->
Unread 03-30-2013, 03:21 PM   #15
ButtBurner
Babbling Farker

 
ButtBurner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-18-12
Location: Dearborn Mi, Manton Mi
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

check your pm's

thanks
ButtBurner is offline   Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts