The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.


Forum Portal Recipes Smoke Signals Magazine Welocme Merchandise Associations Purchase Subscription Brethren Banners
Go Back   The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. > Discussion Area > Brethren Sales and Ventures > Brethren Ventures > Gravity Fed smokers and Grills

Notices

Gravity Fed smokers and Grills We are the inventors of these Gravity Fed Smokers and Grills. Innovative and efficient, these BBQ Grills and smokers can burn multi-fuel of charcoal, Wood Pellet, Wood Chunks, Wood Logs and reach temps of 300C or 572 F.


Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 09-28-2012, 07:21 PM   #31
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
and cheaper
But you are comparing to Auber, which has separate plugs, yet you claim yours is better? The Auber also, I believe, has different programs, but works very well without the learning. I have used this Dog controller three times and still when I set it to 200F it goes to 225-230F before slowing down. And when jt gets down to 205F, the fan still turns on. And when I check P, I, and D settings,they are still at default settings. Should they change as it "learns"?
pixcolor is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2012, 08:59 PM   #32
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Default settings can not suit for all pits

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixcolor View Post
But you are comparing to Auber, which has separate plugs, yet you claim yours is better? The Auber also, I believe, has different programs, but works very well without the learning. I have used this Dog controller three times and still when I set it to 200F it goes to 225-230F before slowing down. And when jt gets down to 205F, the fan still turns on. And when I check P, I, and D settings,they are still at default settings. Should they change as it "learns"?
You need to find out P,I,D by yourself on your own smoker.
If you use default settings of PID, you may need to wait some time then it will get stable.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you set P=0, it is just a common on-off thermostat.
When temperature reaches to 200F,it will be off, but your smoker may still get hotter and hotter, say to 220F and drop again.When it drops to 198F, the thermostat will be on, but your smoker may get colder and colder till 180F and it will rise again.

In P,I,D, mode, the thermostat will predict the "tendency" to act in advance.
Say even your pit is at 205F, it will still be on. After certain period, this "in advance" will be getting more and more accurate. By fine tuning the P,I,D, this "certain period" will be much short and temperature swing will be much less.

If all buyers want, in next production I will use seperate plugs again.

By the way Auber use 2 wires probe. I am using 3 wires probe.
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2012, 09:06 PM   #33
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixcolor View Post
The Auber also, I believe, has different programs, but works very well without the learning.
By P,I,D , it must collect "history data" to predict tendency of changing
to collect "history data" is LERNING period.
(not exactly right, but as an explaination)
If you do not notice this learning period, which means that PID settings are good.Auber may use self-tuning. I am not sure.
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2012, 09:26 PM   #34
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

[B][/If all buyers want, in next production I will use seperate plugs again.B]
Yes, that would be much better. When I received my unit, one wire was disconnected. Tonight, another one disconnected. You don't need the heavy plugs that you use in the Wolf, but separate would be much better. Now the probe. Perhaps much smaller, maybe with a clip to attach it. I would like to clip it to the existing thermometer in the dome.
pixcolor is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2012, 09:35 PM   #35
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
You need to find out P,I,D by yourself on your own smoker.
If you use default settings of PID, you may need to wait some time then it will get stable.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you set P=0, it is just a common on-off thermostat.
When temperature reaches to 200F,it will be off, but your smoker may still get hotter and hotter, say to 220F and drop again.When it drops to 198F, the thermostat will be on, but your smoker may get colder and colder till 180F and it will rise again.

In P,I,D, mode, the thermostat will predict the "tendency" to act in advance.
Say even your pit is at 205F, it will still be on. After certain period, this "in advance" will be getting more and more accurate. By fine tuning the P,I,D, this "certain period" will be much short and temperature swing will be much less.

If all buyers want, in next production I will use seperate plugs again.

By the way Auber use 2 wires probe. I am using 3 wires probe.
Thanks for that. When you say
'In P,I,D, mode, the thermostat will predict the "tendency" to act in advance."
if I set p to 0. Then is it not in pid mode, or is it always in pid mode?
pixcolor is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2012, 09:41 PM   #36
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodpelletsmoker View Post
The plastic block on the back is for you to attach it to a metering box.
You can remove it if yu do not need it
What is a metering box?
pixcolor is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2012, 10:57 PM   #37
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default If you set P=0, you disable PID mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixcolor View Post
Thanks for that. When you say
'In P,I,D, mode, the thermostat will predict the "tendency" to act in advance."
if I set p to 0. Then is it not in pid mode, or is it always in pid mode?
In certain circumstance I=0, D=0 may be better
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2012, 11:20 PM   #38
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Received payment of US$58 from Nicholas

Quote:
Originally Posted by moosesbbq View Post
I'm interested in two units at the promotional priced as we discussed on Ebay. I'll post feedback and suggestions if you can get them to me prior to Lambs Farm Oct 19-20.
I guess that is you. please confirm
7 sets are sold by today.
There are 3 sets of US$58 left.
First Come, First Win!
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-2012, 03:24 AM   #39
Scottacious
Found some matches.
 
Join Date: 07-30-12
Location: Calagry, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

After doing a couple of smokes on a kamado i can say this product does what it says. Trying this on a bullet was a different story as there is definitely more end user time needed. Will post my full review later.
Scottacious is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-2012, 03:46 AM   #40
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Thanks a lot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottacious View Post
After doing a couple of smokes on a kamado i can say this product does what it says. Trying this on a bullet was a different story as there is definitely more end user time needed. Will post my full review later.
I am anxiou to wait for first testimonial
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-2012, 10:29 AM   #41
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

last 4 orders of DOG package were sent today. You shall receive in 2 to 3 weeks.
Sorry for later delivery due to lack of AC/DC adapter.
I just received the adapter yesterday while we are in national day holiday
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-06-2012, 01:16 PM   #42
pixcolor
Knows what a fatty is.
 
Join Date: 03-13-12
Location: Red Deer, AB
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottacious View Post
After doing a couple of smokes on a kamado i can say this product does what it says. Trying this on a bullet was a different story as there is definitely more end user time needed. Will post my full review later.
When using it on the kamado have you changed the PID settings, or left them are default? I find on my Visions Kamado, the temperature over shoots by 20-30 degrees with default settings.
pixcolor is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-06-2012, 08:20 PM   #43
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default You may need to disable natural drafting

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixcolor View Post
When using it on the kamado have you changed the PID settings, or left them are default? I find on my Visions Kamado, the temperature over shoots by 20-30 degrees with default settings.
Leave the job to controller.
please check my offset REVERSE 282 http://allchinas.com/offset/
I smoked beef yesterday at 106C. it stayed at 105-106 C, occassionally 107 C.
After starting the fire, I blocked flue. Smoke escaped from gaps of cover.
The fan creats FORCED ciuculation inside the smoker.
Temperature on left and right is just 1 C difference.

The BURNER is very important too to maintain a stable temperature.
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-10-2012, 08:44 AM   #44
Mapleleaf
Is lookin for wood to cook with.
 
Join Date: 10-04-12
Location: NS
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

any left at $58? I'd like to try one on my offset smoker.

anyone used one of these on a medium sized offset?
Mapleleaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-10-2012, 09:14 AM   #45
woodpelletsmoker
is One Chatty Farker

 
Join Date: 03-29-11
Location: Beijing,China
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default You may need 50 CFM fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mapleleaf View Post
any left at $58? I'd like to try one on my offset smoker.
anyone used one of these on a medium sized offset?
I do not have competitors
DOG output is variable voltage.
Auber output is solid state relay.
You can buy 50 CFM fan, but define its real maximium capacity according to your own smoker, say 10 CFM, or 25 CFM, or 40 CFM.
woodpelletsmoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Loading



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 © BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.
no new posts