The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Where do YOU put your Temperature Probe???? (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=51214)

gotwood 10-26-2008 08:00 AM

Where do YOU put your Temperature Probe????
 
For instance I have a large spicewine....

For fear of meat temperature affecting it, I clip it on the rack underneath the product that is most temperature sensative.

Not directly under the meat the rack below the rack the meat is on.


Wondering if im better off putting it over the meat or at same level?

LMAJ 10-26-2008 08:28 AM

I thread it down through the top of the egg.

Meat Burner 10-26-2008 08:35 AM

I position at grate level the meat is on. On the UDS, the temp on the outside edge of the grate is about 20 degrees less than the center of the grate. Maybe the SW doesn't vary like the drum does. Good luck!

blues_n_cues 10-26-2008 08:42 AM

just use the el-cheapo acurite oven thermos that stand about 1" above the grate the meat is on.they work pretty good & no cord to get pinched.
http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w...ix/abts003.jpg

thirdeye 10-26-2008 09:19 AM



I usually go just above the meat on the grate with mine.

Trucky1008 10-26-2008 09:28 AM

If I'm only cooking on 1 grate my temp probe goes on that grate. When cooking on several grates I place it on the bottom or middle one.

gotwood 10-26-2008 09:39 AM

FYI, cant use an oven thermomenter...

Using the DigiQII

JohnMcD348 10-26-2008 09:57 AM

If I have room on the grate with my WSM's or my SKD/Dera's, I'll run the probe through a potatoe and cut the bottom off so it'll sit flat on the grate and place it next to the meat I'm watching.

Sarge 10-26-2008 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gotwood (Post 766346)
FYI, cant use an oven thermomenter...

Using the DigiQII


Why does an oven thermometer not work?

Mike

gotwood 10-26-2008 10:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sarge (Post 766373)
Why does an oven thermometer not work?

Mike

not that it doesnt work....its not needed


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.