The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Uds maverick probes (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=186456)

Duddy55 04-16-2014 11:29 AM

Uds maverick probes
 
ive read a bunch of the threads on here of how people were running their probes into their uds..most are old posts... Wondering if anyone has found a great solution... I saw maverick has rubber grommets<--- any good? And also i saw some people us the guru eyelets... Let me hear it

Drunk Monkey 04-16-2014 11:54 AM

I use one of these without the plastic on it.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j...97749955071937http://www.homedepot.com/p/Orbit-3-4...7933/100659291

Put the probe in then close the valve just before it kinks the wire. when not in use I close it all the way to keep the elements out.

Fwismoker 04-16-2014 12:00 PM

Yea i drilled a 1" hole and put in a 3/4 electric conduit nut and nipple. Several probes can easily go in and i used a cork that fit. All of this was at Lowes for a total cost of like 3-4 dollars. It's simple and seals up.

http://i1226.photobucket.com/albums/...ps4451f5d9.jpg

SmittyJonz 04-16-2014 12:04 PM

I use a 3/8" Hole.

frog13 04-16-2014 12:27 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I don't have a UDS but I do use grommets, probably don't really need them but I don't like having the metal edge. I get the grommets at McMaster Carr, high temp ones.

Jmiller 04-16-2014 02:20 PM

I use the (Gampak 3/4-in NM/SE Connector) from Lowes. Works great.
http://images.lowes.com/product/converted/031857/031857490935lg.jpg

olewarthog 04-17-2014 02:36 PM

I also just drilled a small hole. that hole does not allow enough air in to have any effect.

ITBFQ 04-17-2014 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jmiller (Post 2886054)
I use the (Gampak 3/4-in NM/SE Connector) from Lowes. Works great.
http://images.lowes.com/product/converted/031857/031857490935lg.jpg

Exactly what I used, but I got mine at Menards just because its closer to home.

Texcam 04-17-2014 09:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by olewarthog (Post 2887262)
I also just drilled a small hole. that hole does not allow enough air in to have any effect.

X2

I drilled a 1/4" hole in the ones I've built.

AaronPo 04-17-2014 09:32 PM

x3

drill a 1/4" hole stick the probe through.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.