The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Ok, how do "you" do it? Pron please! (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=185045)

THoey1963 03-30-2014 01:19 PM

Ok, how do "you" do it? Pron please!
 
I have four racks of full spares (almost 22 pounds of meat) that I am doing on my WSM 22.5". I planned on using a rack and getting all four on the top shelf, but they were so close together that they were one BIG mass of meat. I know you want airflow, so had to scrap that idea.

Decide to throw two on each cooking grate, but that pretty much covered each grate completely and I knew that would be bad for airflow too and make toasty ends.

I got 8 metal shish-kabob skewers and wove two through each rack to kind of make them wavy shaped so I could fit them on each grate, but not sure that is the best way.

So, how do you put four racks of full spares on a 22.5 WSM? Pictures would help me understand...

1911Ron 03-30-2014 01:28 PM

If i do a lot of ribs i will do like you did with the thicker side up or do like some others and make circles out of them and stand them up that way or buy another cooker! :thumb: :becky:

SmittyJonz 03-30-2014 01:54 PM

http://i1326.photobucket.com/albums/...psf3dd77f3.jpg

THoey1963 03-30-2014 01:54 PM

1 Attachment(s)
This is what I ended up doing...

dadsr4 03-30-2014 02:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by THoey1963 (Post 2863786)
This is what I ended up doing...

That should work. I've cooked them stacked that way on my kettle once. The cook took longer, though.

Bonewagon 03-30-2014 02:10 PM

I use a rib rack.

castlepines 03-30-2014 02:17 PM

Yep, rib rack.

THoey1963 03-30-2014 03:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmittyJonz (Post 2863785)

Smitty, those are St. Louis cut. I thought of doing something like that, but the meat only flaps would have just folded over.

Nice looking ribs though...

THoey1963 03-30-2014 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bonewagon (Post 2863812)
I use a rib rack.

That was my initial intention. I started putting those in my rib rack and the tops folded over. I basically made one huge cube of pork, which sounds good, but not sure how well it would have cooked.

But thanks for the suggestions...

Fwismoker 03-30-2014 03:14 PM

How about a rib rack with tooth pics keeping them separated?

Bludawg 03-30-2014 03:32 PM

Let you meat hang free and swing in the smoke:rolleyes:

THoey1963 03-30-2014 04:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fwismoker (Post 2863907)
How about a rib rack with tooth pics keeping them separated?

That sounds like a great suggestion for next time. I coule even use shorter skewers. Build it all inside on a cookie sheet, take it out and transfer to the grill. Thanks FWIS!

smoke ninja 03-30-2014 04:52 PM

I have a a couple of rib racks that fit the 18 wsm. I can fit 4 racks St Louis and the tips in one load.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2003 -2012 BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.