The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   WSM Thermometer Probe Length? (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=165518)

Unfathomable Bastid 07-10-2013 10:39 AM

WSM Thermometer Probe Length?
 
Hey Brethren:

Thinking of installing a couple grate-level thermometers on my 22.5" WSM this weekend, and was wondering if there's consensus on the ideal probe length. They apparently come in a variety of different lengths.

Thanks!

-Bastid

Cayman1 07-10-2013 10:55 AM

I would think 3"-5" would be ok. It will get you past the very edge that is a little hotter than the center due to the way heat circulates in the weber.

BobM 07-10-2013 12:31 PM

I did this thermometer mod to my WSMs, they have 3" stems.
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...07#post2299407

yakdung 07-10-2013 12:48 PM

http://www.thermoworks.com/products/...emp_timer.html

Unfathomable Bastid 07-10-2013 12:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BobM (Post 2546313)
I did this thermometer mod to my WSMs, they have 3" stems.
http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...07#post2299407

Thanks Bob! Interesting that you installed your probes "below" grate level. I was planning on installing mine just above the grates, acknowledging the concern that the probes could theoretically touch the food. I was just planning on positioning food around them.

-Bastid

Unfathomable Bastid 07-10-2013 01:41 PM

Seems like I'd want at least a 4" probe (no jokes please) for fear that taking readings too close to the side of the cooker would be 25-50 degrees hotter than a couple inches further towards the middle.

Am I incorrect in assuming this?

Of course, if I choose anything larger than 3" and plan on installing it above the cooking grate, I could be sacrificing quite a bit of cooking real estate. Hmmm...

-Bastid

Cayman1 07-10-2013 03:31 PM

Why not do the grommets and just put the thermometer in when you need to read the temp? I would be concerned mounting it would get in the way of taking the grate out. BobM should be able to address that for you.

BobM 07-11-2013 08:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cayman1 (Post 2546570)
Why not do the grommets and just put the thermometer in when you need to read the temp?

You can do that and it works well. For convenience I wanted something permanent.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Cayman1 (Post 2546570)
I would be concerned mounting it would get in the way of taking the grate out. BobM should be able to address that for you.

You have to tilt the grates on a slight angle when you put them in or take them out, but it's no big deal.

Unfathomable Bastid 07-11-2013 09:15 AM

I might be going overboard on this whole idea since I also use the DigiQ DX2 temperature management system which has a pit probe. I just like the idea of having a second ACCURATE thermometer installed to tell me temps independently of the computer. And I also like the way the installed thermometer looks on the unit.

It's like airliners with GPS navigation units still having vacuum pumps running their analog instruments. You don't need them -- until you need them.

-Bastid

oldbill 07-11-2013 09:28 AM

I usually see therms with two or four inch stems and my pick would be the four inch because I would want to see what the temp is as close to where the cooking is being done as possible.

Unfathomable Bastid 07-11-2013 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldbill (Post 2547516)
I usually see therms with two or four inch stems and my pick would be the four inch because I would want to see what the temp is as close to where the cooking is being done as possible.

Yeah, I believe a minimum of 3" probe is necessary. 4" is my preferred length. The question remains as to whether the install should be below or above the grate.

Personally, I think it should be above the grate as that's likely to have a more correct temp reading, and would also avoid dripping foods.

-Bastid

oldbill 07-11-2013 09:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unfathomable Bastid (Post 2547528)
Yeah, I believe a minimum of 3" probe is necessary. 4" is my preferred length. The question remains as to whether the install should be below or above the grate.

Personally, I think it should be above the grate as that's likely to have a more correct temp reading, and would also avoid dripping foods.

-Bastid

Yeah definitely above the grate as close to the level of the food area as possible.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.