The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   BBQ Guru & Maverick 732 Help (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=157015)

boltsfan 03-25-2013 10:15 AM

BBQ Guru & Maverick 732 Help
 
I ordered the probe eyelet assembly from BBQ Guru and the Maverick 732 from Amazon at the same time. I was so excited, that I missed the *Maverick NOTE* at the bottom stating the probes would not fit. DOH! :frusty:

I installed the sensor already, so should I return the Maverick to Amazon and get another thermometer that will fit? I am not interested in drilling holes in my WSM.

Any help is appreciated.

Smoothsmoke 03-25-2013 10:20 AM

Run the wires under the lid.

aawa 03-25-2013 10:20 AM

Just run the probe through the top vent of your wsm. No drilling required.

boltsfan 03-25-2013 11:22 AM

Thanks for the suggestions...

If run under the lid, the wire gets crimped and I am afraid it will get damaged over time.

Running thru the top vent of the lid is an option but not the one I prefer.

ButtBurner 03-25-2013 11:29 AM

I dont have a WSM but I have something close

I just run them through the door and close the door with the wire sticking out one of the corners.

PhilB 03-25-2013 12:09 PM

I just drilled a slightly bigger hole and left the eyelet out, running directly into the hole.

PaPaQ 03-25-2013 12:41 PM

Cajun Bandit has the 3/8 eyelet that will hold 3 or 4 probes.

boltsfan 03-26-2013 03:17 PM

Thanks for all the help...

I can return the Maverick 732 so is there another thermometer u guys would recommend that would fit thru the BBQ Guru eyelets?

Have also seen some guys use a dremel tool to cut a small slit in the middle section to be able to pass the probe and wire thru.

accuseal 03-26-2013 04:06 PM

Just drill the hole. No big deal. Put tape over the spot before drilling to prevent the coating from chipping.

BobM 03-27-2013 09:37 AM

I've drilled a lot of holes in my WSMs for mods. It's easy and they've done no damage.
Using a Dremel to make a slot also works well, but it's also invasive. If you are going to Dremel it, might just as well drill a hole.

boltsfan 03-27-2013 10:21 AM

Thanks guys

Do I need a specific drill bit?

luberconn 03-27-2013 10:59 AM

maverick sells grommets too. i assume they would work for the et-732. i have one too and am going to order these and give them a try.

http://maverickhousewares.bigcartel....icone-grommets

boltsfan 03-28-2013 11:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by luberconn (Post 2425338)
maverick sells grommets too. i assume they would work for the et-732. i have one too and am going to order these and give them a try.

http://maverickhousewares.bigcartel....icone-grommets


Hmm.... You would still need to drill holes for these... right?

MarleyMan 03-28-2013 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boltsfan (Post 2426565)
Hmm.... You would still need to drill holes for these... right?


Yes, you would have to drill holes to accomodate the flange on the outside of the grommet.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.