The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Vacuum Sealer (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=147930)

Porcine Perfection 11-17-2012 09:27 AM

Vacuum Sealer

I have had two vacuum sealers and neither one of them have worked very well. Can anyone give me a recommendation of one you have had success with? There are so many at such different prices.

Thanks in advance.

"You don't win friends with salad!" - Homer Simpson

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PapaBearsHickoryPit 11-17-2012 10:58 AM

Which ones have you used before?

superdan 11-17-2012 10:58 AM

I have a Vac Master VP 112 chamber sealer. It's really nice but pricey. After going through 3 others I went for this and so far so good.

Swamp Donkeyz BBQ 11-17-2012 11:01 AM

Usually vacuum sealers are one of those things where you get what you pay for. The higher priced ones generally last longer. I've got a Foodsaver that I've had for years and it still works fine. If memory serves me correct it was a little over $200.

mrcranky 11-17-2012 11:56 AM

I've been using a foodsaver for years. They work pretty good. Not always perfect, but it depends on what you are vacuum sealing.

They go on sale often. Check out/search a deal site like slickdeals.net. I just have a basic electric model. I have no need for the fancier ones.

colonel00 11-17-2012 12:08 PM

Yep, keep an eye out for foodsaver deals. I have been using a Foodsaver 2200 series (not sure the exact model) for several years now for light usage around the house. It does really well and can handle a good workout. When my buddies and I do mass processing of fish or game, we have a VacMaster VP 215 chamber sealer that is awesome but extremely pricey for basic home usage.

Southstar Jeff 11-17-2012 12:19 PM