The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Adding propane burner to offset (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=147401)

KBird 11-07-2012 08:22 AM

Adding propane burner to offset
 
I'd like to add a propane burner inside the firebox of my offset smoker. Has anyone here done that, and what parts did you use? Just looking to get the fire up and going faster, and I would rather build in a burner instead of using a weed burner setup.:help:

javahog2002 11-07-2012 08:36 AM

Of course this requires drilling a hole in your fire box

http://www.tejassmokers.com/options.htm

http://www.tejassmokers.com/images/j...ter_&_hose.jpg

htrisna 11-07-2012 09:04 AM

My pit comes with a built in gas assist. You may want to contact Chris at Lonestargrillz. I'm pretty sure he'll sell you the parts.

http://www.lonestargrillz.com/Square...---Grills.html

Bludawg 11-07-2012 11:00 AM

You can add a turkey fryer burner on side of the fire box at grate level, and weld a shroud around it to keep the ashes out of it. I think Gator uses that method.

KBird 11-07-2012 11:25 AM

Thanks for the suggestions!

Cloudsmoker 11-07-2012 11:28 AM

I've got 2 Klose cookers (one mobile unit, one small BYC) both with propane assist. It's ok. If I had to do it again, I wouldn't. I can start a fire just as well with a chimney full of charcoal, so all that equipment saves me ... 10 minutes per cook? Maybe. In the offsets I've got, I can just open wide the door to the firebox and it's plenty to ignite new logs or coals.

BillywannaQ 11-07-2012 01:06 PM

Afterburner.com
Check it out.

neuyawk 11-07-2012 03:53 PM

Almost everyone I've met that have the starter never use it. Unless you're going to go all out and do gas assist, it doesn't seem like it's worth the effort.

chad 11-07-2012 04:28 PM

I have an auxillary burner for my Kingfisher. It's a real high BTU "T" shaped burner but not for lighting assist. I used to use it to pre-heat all that steel and the water tank while getting setup. Lately I've been using my brush burner to light the charcoal and splits while putting heat for pre-heating into the main chamber. A lighting assist burner would be interesting but my firebox wouldn't have room for it in order to keep it from staying clogged up with ash.
Good luck!

fweck 11-07-2012 04:31 PM

My Cimmaron came with a log lighter like the one BillywannaQ is showing.
I use it just about every time to get the coals going.
The tank hangs from the bottom of the smoker on hooks and last over a year.
Sorry about the size of the picture:

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/pi...pictureid=2312

KBird 11-08-2012 06:52 AM

Thanks for all the responses! Now I just have to put my thinking cap on.:grin:

ThomEmery 11-08-2012 07:32 AM

http://gassmoker.com/index.htm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.