The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   PID Controller for UDS (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=129229)

HogFan 03-27-2012 09:02 AM

PID Controller for UDS
 
I'm new here.....actually my first post other than an introduction in roll call.

I'l planning to build a UDS after reading some of the threads here. This likely isn't needed for a drum smoker to control temps (based on what I've read) but does anyone have a recommendation for a programmable PID controller for a drum smoker? I do control systems for a living so I've tuned lots of PID loops.......so I'm geeky enough to enjoy this wether it's needed or not.

Thanks, and look forward to hearing from you!

big brother smoke 03-27-2012 09:06 AM

Since you are geeky, you may like: http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...400b9829fc0c0e

or you can get an Ique 110 it is not digital.


There are more expensive units such as the Stoker or BBQ Guru.

razrbakcrzy 03-27-2012 09:12 AM

you could try one of our supporting members (Woodpelletsmoker) and this thread. He manufactures a complete PID setup -

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=123922

colonel00 03-27-2012 10:31 AM

I am very happy with my PID controller from woodpelletsmoker. If you read the threads, there have been some complications with the wifi unit connecting to the internet and controlling the unit via the internet but as a stand alone PID controller, it is great. I have the Tiger version which has a remote which works great.

HogFan 03-27-2012 02:04 PM

I shot woodpelletsmoker an e-mail with a few questions. We'll see what he has to say.

Sounds like the system with remote is ready to roll and the web enabled version needs to have a few kinks worked out. I would prefer the web enabled version if it controlled and monitored everthing the remote version does.

colonel00 03-27-2012 02:57 PM

Well, I am not sure if he is producing the remote versions currently. From what I recall, he could only get the remote parts in bulk and would have to be able to sell 100 or more to make it worth its while. Honestly though, I have done several cooks since I got it and I really don't use the remote that much at all.

PorkQPine 03-28-2012 09:32 AM

I use the Auber for my UDS and it works great. I broke the temp. probe, my fault, and they sent a new one no charge. People say the a UDS does not need a PID but I don't agree, it gives you confidence when you do a long cook overnight and don't have to worry about it so you can get some sleep. I use Royal Oak lump from WalMart with much better results than Kingsford briquettes because the RO does not leave much ash. Also, you don't need to get more than a half dozen started in the chimney before you dump on the unlit ones in the firebox. The Auber will bring it to temp but remember that it is easier to bring up temp. than bring down temp.

Pappy 03-28-2012 10:32 AM

I use the IQ 110. Works just fine on my UDS.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.