The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Went a little overboard, spent more than I should have. (http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=124564)

RutledgeQ 01-22-2012 01:56 AM

Went a little overboard, spent more than I should have.
 
I have always wanted to do a little BBQ. My wife and I lived in Nashville for a few years and I got hooked on it. Last year, we moved into a house that would allow me to have a grill/smoker. I wanted a BGE but couldnt talk the wife into the value of it and instead got a Weber Performer. I love it and it has served me well.

Over the last year I have been trying to figure out how to use it to do a slow cook BBQ, the Mrs. really likes pulled pork. I was looking at the one contraption that creates a metal barrier between the fire and the food but thought it was limited.

Then a few weeks ago I found this...

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-d...0/IMG_1667.JPGhttps://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-F...0/IMG_1668.JPG
the iQue 110.
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlinkhttps://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

I also knew I needed a better meat thermometer. Christmas Eve I made two roasts(a standing rib, and some other type) I knew I needed to cook one to medium rare and the other around medium and I used two different temp. probes. They went off and I thought the meat was done. The standing rib roast was just past rare(even a little red for me) and the other was a little pinker than what I was shooting for but not too bad. The thermometer failed at helping me so I needed a new one. So I ordered these....
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-H...0/IMG_1666.JPG

from Thermoworks a dual probe monitor and the thermapen. I may use the probe in my oven a few times because I think it is really bad at going to what I set it at.

Everything arrived on Thursday, I was set to Q this weekend. I went to the store Friday and saw that a Picnic roast was .99#. I was looking for a Boston butt but didn't know about the picnic so I didn't buy any. I came back home checked out this forum and saw that I should have stocked up on it. So I was set to go out to the store on Saturday morning when weather struck.....

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlinkhttps://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-O...0/IMG_1648.JPG

Now I have all this new equipment and nothing to cook with it. Hopefully that will be fixed soon. I will post here when that changes and I make my first smoke. I just hope the meat is still on sale.

Pappy 01-22-2012 08:39 AM

Low on cash, Burgers & Brats!

How do you plan to attach the IQ 110 to the performer?

Bbq Bubba 01-22-2012 09:18 AM

shoulda saved the money and bought a smoker.

Not sure if all those gadgets will help you on a Performer?

Harbormaster 01-22-2012 09:37 AM

Most guys get the WSM first, then the IQ and Thermapen goodies.

You just went in a different order.

RutledgeQ 01-22-2012 09:55 AM

As I said in my post, the thermapen and monitor were as much for things I do in the oven as it was for the Q. I was so angry about those roasts on christmas eve it wasn't funny. I had plenty of time for them to be in the oven, but the cheap monitors I had said they were done so I took them out.

New Pal Frank 01-22-2012 10:09 AM

Super Fast COLTS Blue Thermapen is a winner. (Even if the COLTS aren't right now)

Rubmybutt 01-22-2012 10:42 AM

What ever way are ordering you are buying the best for sure! :thumb:

jimithing78 01-22-2012 04:04 PM

The Ique should hook up fine to the performer. I think you have to take off the one touch ash system for it to work but it should work. I'm very happy with my Ique on my WSM. If you really think you're going to make a lot of BBQ you should start searching craigslist for used WSM's. Otherwise there are plenty of people who've made good Que on the Performers.

colonel00 01-22-2012 04:11 PM

Nice toys :thumb: BTW, looks like you will need an indoor activity until spring. I say, build a UDS :becky:

Triple T BBQ 01-22-2012 04:13 PM

Looking forward to hearing how the blower does for you with the smoker. Need to get a thermopen sensor too. Just showed this post to my better half. She just nodded knowingly. Lets see some Pork Pron when you get ready.

bbqchicken 01-22-2012 04:36 PM

I guess it can be adapted for the performer

Q: Will the iQue 110 work with the
Weber One-Touch Gold or the Weber
Performer?
A: Yes! There are two ways to
accomplish this. The first method is to
remove the ash catcher hardware and
simply attach the Standard Manifold
and hi-temp tape strips to the kettle as
shown in the installation video. The ash
catcher hardware removes without
tools. In the second method the ash
catcher hardware is left on and a 1/2"
conduit hole (7/8" hole saw) is drilled in
the kettle down low and near the front
using the Standard Manifold's 1/4"
mounting hole as a hole location guide.
Remember to keep the air injection
point well below the level of the
charcoal grate. The Standard Manifold
toggle bolt is then placed through the
hole. The hi-temp tape is not used in
this case as the One-Touch vents are
kept closed. When the iQue is not in
use, the hose barb can be capped off
using the included Kill Plug. Installation
pictures can be seen on the "Weber
Gold and Performer Installation" page.
NOTE: The Performer Kettle has an
attachment for a propane bottle. The
propane bottle MUST be removed from
the kettle and stored in a safe location
while modifying the kettle and using
the iQue to regulate temperature
www.pitmasteriq.com/FAQs.html

KnucklHed BBQ 01-22-2012 04:49 PM

Nice new toys! congrats! lookin forward to some pron! :thumb:

Pappy 01-22-2012 04:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimithing78 (Post 1922948)
I think you have to take off the one touch ash system for it to work but it should work.

I'm pretty sure this is how you make the IQ fit the performer and you tape over 2 of the vent slots on the bottom with high heat tape.

I'm not taking my ash system off for the IQ to fit.

They also mention drilling a giant hole in the side of the bowl. Like thats is a good idea. No way!

RutledgeQ 01-22-2012 05:01 PM

Yeah I will be removing the ash catcher. I won't be drilling holes any time soon. But considering the ash catcher has fallen off on me a few times on its own I don't think this will be a problem.

MStoney72 01-22-2012 05:08 PM

I installed a digiq dx 2 and I think option #2 is probably gonna be your best bet because you will still be able to use your grill conventionally like you always have. With option #1 you will only be able to use your grill with your ique only. As for performance I have been using mine today since 11:00 am and my temps have been at exactly at my set point the whole time. Drilling a hole in your kettle is the hardest thing to do in option #2, but I can use my grill with or without my guru. Here are some pics, in this first pic I put the weber adapter just above where the one touch system goes by the adapter which is what allows me to still use the grill conventionallyhttp://img.tapatalk.com/4c174bfd-7a51-5819.jpg
And this next pic is the adapter mounted on the outside of the kettle underneath the grill near the gas assist tube
http://img.tapatalk.com/4c174bfd-7aa0-9363.jpg
And here is how I mounted the digiq dx 2http://img.tapatalk.com/4c174bfd-7ad7-3886.jpg
Hope this helps, you will love your new toy!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise v2.6.0 Beta 4 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003 -2012 BBQ-Brethren Inc. All rights reserved. All Content and Flaming Pig Logo are registered and protected under U.S and International Copyright and Trademarks. Content Within this Website Is Property of BBQ Brethren Inc. Reproduction or alteration is strictly prohibited.