The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Bad Ribs or Kingsford's Comp. Charcoal Sucks??? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=68811)

Burk504 09-12-2009 09:03 PM

Bad Ribs or Kingsford's Comp. Charcoal Sucks???

Has anyone ever cooked ribs just as you normally would, everything seemed fine and looked good but when you tasted them they were just awful? Happened to me today and I can't figure it out.

It doesn't seem that they were 'bacteria bad', because my son ate half a rack (he was so hungry he could eat dirt) and he isn't sick at all. Is it possible to just get a bad rack?

The only thing new in the entire process was I used Kingsford's new 'Competition' Charcoal for the first time. I have never used it before but bought it because they were out of lump at the grocery. Could that possibly put a bad taste in the meat?

landarc 09-12-2009 09:06 PM

Yes I have, and I have decided it could be either thing. I have most certainly purchased meat in cryo and found it was bad, got that yuck funk smell. I also bought a bag of charcoal this year that made ribs, pork shoulder, even steak taste bad. It is now in the compost pile.

capri man 09-12-2009 09:07 PM

i would not think so!!

BBQ Grail 09-12-2009 09:07 PM

Probably not! Sometimes you just get bad meat.

Earlier this week I bought some nice looking ribeyes. At least I thought they were. Cooked them just like I normally did and they just didn't taste right.

It happens. Were the ribs "enhanced?"

BBQ Grail 09-12-2009 09:09 PM

Introducing yourself with a post in "Cattle Call" probably would have stopped that from happening. :wink:

MountainMan 09-12-2009 09:10 PM

Quote:

It happens. Were the ribs "enhanced?"
That's what I'd have to ask as well!

Burk504 09-12-2009 09:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BBQ Grail (Post 1024724)
Were the ribs "enhanced?"