The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   No or Lo Carb Q and Sides (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=153686)

QDoc 02-12-2013 08:33 AM

No or Lo Carb Q and Sides

The thread on no carb Butt made me wish for a forum dedicated to Lo-Carb BBQ. As a diabetic I do everything I can to reduce my carb intake. I realize in the big picture there may not be that many carbs compared to the total fat and protein but every gram counts. If there is interest please show your interest and maybe the Mods can create a spot for it.

HankB 02-12-2013 08:42 AM

I'm still a newb here and it seems to me that the management tends to keep things in one forum rather than subdivide things. I won't argue one way or another on that decision as it's not mine to make.

Nevertheless, if there was to be a section to deal with lo carb preparations, I would suggest it be expanded to cover any special needs diets.

Mammoth Mountain 02-12-2013 10:05 AM

All my recipes are low or no carbs. Health reasons as well drove me into changing how I cooked. I use Honey powder in my rubs. Agave and Blackstrap Molasses in sauces or glazes . I use no mayo in my sides and no ketchups. I never tell anyone and they love it. No Macaroni or potato salads. I make a Chiplote Cole Slaw instead. I did a 160 person wedding and thet said it was the best BBQ they ever had. But we don't have many if any good BBQ places up here. If they open a section up I will post my recipes.

scayne62 02-12-2013 12:14 PM

I would be into that even finding low calorie recipes to include in there as well.

MS2SB 02-12-2013 12:54 PM

You can always use the search function, and if you're posting low carb recipes you can include that as a tag in your initial post which will help others find them as well.

hamiltont 02-12-2013 12:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mammoth Mountain (Post 2364794)