The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Recommendations for Smoker for Catering (large unit) (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=177895)

fireman_pete 12-23-2013 06:01 PM

Recommendations for Smoker for Catering (large unit)

I have been catering for about 3 years. I am located in Southern California, and have enough work to keep me more than busy, being that this is a part time job for me.

I currently have a BBQ Trailer, with 4 different BBQs on it that I use. I have an FEC100, Two Traeger Com-150s, and a Santa Maria BBQ Grill.

Our normal catering gigs are between 100-250 people, but I cook for 350-450 people several times a year. Our most popular meats are Tri-Tip, Chicken, Pork and ribs.

I would like to buy 1 large smoker and ditch the several smaller ones.

I would love advice/recommendations. I REALLY want something that is set and forget when it comes to temps. That is why I like cooking with pellets. I am not against a gas assist pit either. Looking for a smoker that will hold full size hotel pans, can hold 30-40 butts, etc.

I have about $5-$6K to spend right now. Whatever I get needs to be mounted to my existing trailer.

I would love to get your feedback.

Thanks

Garth57 12-23-2013 07:28 PM

I saw a CTO on the Brethren site for under $4k, I believe?

BigBellyBBQ 12-24-2013 02:59 AM

southern pride or Ole hickory , however keep a grill on board..

fireman_pete 12-24-2013 11:42 AM

Yep, I saw that and posted a reply, but have not heard anything yet....bet it is sold.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Garth57 (Post 2740496)
I saw a CTO on the Brethren site for under $4k, I believe?

fireman_pete 12-24-2013 11:43 AM