The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Competition BBQ (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Whole Chicken in Competition (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=136711)

Swine Spectator 06-23-2012 11:05 PM

Whole Chicken in Competition

Hey guys and gals,

I am a Noob to competition cooking. Lat year I entered my first comp (a non-sanctioned charity event) and placed third in chicken. I just got invited to come back and compete again.

The problem I have is that the chicken I turned in was, in my opinion, the best I have ever cooked. I bought an organic free-range chicken, brined it, and smoked it for 2 hours over pecan chips in my 22.5 Weber Performer. It was a juicy bird with a bronzed-mahogany skin. My box had sliced breast meat, pulled thighs, and the "oysters" from where the thigh connects to the backbone.

I really want to go for it this year. I would appreciate any tips or trick y'all could share with me. Any guidance on how to cook it, cut it, or box it is most appreciated.

Yours in smoke,

The Swine Spectator

Pork Barrel Project 06-24-2012 12:18 AM

Welcome to the sometimes maddening world of competition. In a perfect world, you may have cooked the best chicken of your life last year but the two who finished ahead of you also cooked the best chicken of their lives and those entries were marginally better than yours. All you can do is do your best and leave the rest up to the judges.

Judging is subjective and the same entry today might not even get a call at all. It's a gamble and you landed at a table where the judges really liked your entry.