The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   First Post and review of the OJ Bronco barrel smoker (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=274044)

PorkedtheotherWhiteMeat 07-20-2019 09:01 AM

First Post and review of the OJ Bronco barrel smoker

Introduction

Hello all! I love brisket, burnt ends, and lots of thick, crunchy bark. The last brisket I cooked took 20 hours (no crutch) and it was glorious. So that is where I stand on those 'issues' :)

I am also a Mechanical Engineer by profession so my posts tend to be detailed and lengthy, but concise.

I also like this forum and was pointed here by a friend of mine who also does a lot of BBQ and smoking. In fact I can blame him for resurrecting my smoking ways because he told me about a 'kobei' brisket for sale at the local grocery store. Not cheap but beautiful marbling. With some guidance from him it turned out great, although it took a lot of work since I was using a COS (Brinkmann) and thus it required vigilance and many, many refuelings.

Oklahoma Joe's Bronco (OJBr?) barrel smoker

I tried modifying the Brinkmann with fire brick, wrapped the fire box with a welding blanket, and even built a Minion style labyrinth basket (welded steel). I also built a smoker controller using an Arduino and a small blower fan which works very well. But still I had fuel capacity problems and could not run the 8-10 hour unattended smoke burn that I was striving for; the goal is to be able to start a brisket and let it run overnight. I had ideas for more mods, some of them radical, but decided instead to take a different approach.

Enter the Oklahoma Joe's Bronco smoker barrel. I think OJBr works for the acronym since OJB is already taken by the Bandera vertical smoker. I do not think there is an 'official' acronym (?) for this smoker since it is pretty new to the market.