Tips for staying up all night for smoking...

cayenne

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
Hi all!

Well, gonna throw my 20lb fresh ham on as soon as I can this evening...I've never done an allnighter with the smoker before...so, got any good tips on all night smoking? Do you set your alarm to get up every 1.5 hours or so?

I know for sure I can't hit the Wild Turkey like I usually do on a day smoke...

Any good tips on how to stoke a fire that will keep heat up good...but, not too high...and still be a little forgiving if you oversleep a couple hours?

I've stayed up all night plenty in the past..but, usually partying...not having to keep up with a long term meal process...so, any idea or good stories welcome...

Cayenne

C, I usually put on some good tunes. Keep an alarm set so I don't let things get too outta whack and spend a little time taking notes in my cook's log. An occasional stop in here at the site helps too.

As a person who works three 12 hour night shifts in a row then reverts back to sleeping at night for my days off, i gotta reinforce the idea to set an alarm at all times. Coffee and some good tunes and maybe a good exciting movie or book to pass the time. Move around some and don't get too comfortable.
Good luck!

I seem to get the late night shift for some reason :oops:
XM Radio :lol: :lol: :lol:
"REAL" coffee!
Tend a Bandera (every 10 minutes ya gotta do something!!!)
Get good company to visit with!
Remember--you can sleep in a day or two- no problem :lol: :lol:

Actually, I have no real idea how to do it--just "survival cooking" :oops: :oops:
TIM

For me if I slow down I'll stop. So I stay out in the shop working on the projects that I never have time to do. Just do not sit down and watch TV next thing you'll know it will be 8:30 and the kids will be looking at cartoons.

Here's my Recipe for an all nighter.

I am doing this tonight and tomorrow

Get 1 brother in law from the airport at 10pm.
Stop at White Castle and pick up a 30 pack