The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Should I make the switch to a pellet smoker? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=159408)

smokingbarrel 04-24-2013 10:41 AM

Should I make the switch to a pellet smoker?

I've got a UDS that I love and use almost every weekend. I'm considering adding a pellet smoker to my collection (most likely a Trager Grill).

What does everyone think - is it worth considering? I've never used a pellet grill before and only know about them based on what I have read online.

Vision 04-24-2013 10:45 AM

I've researched it, tasted some chicken off one, and will not do it.

deguerre 04-24-2013 10:50 AM

Probably depends on how much smoke flavoring you like?

timzcardz 04-24-2013 10:50 AM

Can't comment on if it is worth considering, however . . . . Traeger is coming to a Costco near you. http://www.costco.com/wcsstore/Costc...lEvents_NE.pdf

They were in my Costco 2-3 week sago and I believe that they had some pretty good in-store prices.

smokingbarrel 04-24-2013 10:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deguerre (Post 2458995)
Probably depends on how much smoke flavoring you like?

I'm happy with the amount of smoke flavor I get from my UDS but have to be careful because sometimes it can oversmoke if I add too much wood to the coals.

I like the idea of having an indirect heat smoker since right now the UDS is direct heat.

luke duke 04-24-2013 11:01 AM

If it ain't wood, it ain't good.

Bludawg 04-24-2013 11:01 AM

If it requires electricity to run it what do you do if the power goes out or the electrics get a Queer electron and Blow?? Not to mention being a slave to proprietary fuel:noidea: So what do you gain in this decision that you lack in the UDS?
Lets see:
UDS
Buy fuel most any where,
Pretty much set & forget,
No sensitive parts to fry. Works during a power outage,
Easily maintains temps,