The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Brisket vending question (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=164646)

kmax3450 06-30-2013 01:50 PM

Brisket vending question

I'm going to be selling Brisket and pulled pork at a large festival this coming weekend. Setup begins Friday 12 -6 then you can't get back in until 6 the next morning. I'll be smoking 3-4 packers thursday night. Since I've never done this before what is the best way to keep these from drying out. I plan on injecting and I guess leaving them whole then heating in smoker until they get back up to maybe 165

vexter1 07-01-2013 09:35 AM

Here's how we do it (been doing this for over a year now - vending just like you) and it's been working great for us.

We trim and inject each brisket. Rub and put on smoker @ 225*.

Next - when it hits 160* - we foil and add beef broth. Foil tightly, put in a full pan and place back on smoker (this keeps any juices leaking from the foil in the pan for use later..)

Cook to about 192* then keep in a warmer or on a smoker set at about 150* - keep it foiled and whole. Then when you need to pull it out of the warmer - slice/chop (however you want to present it) - then put in a pan, add as much au jus from the foil into the pan and hot hold/serve.

This same method has been working great for us - hope it helps you and someone else :)

kmax3450 07-02-2013 08:13 AM