The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Competition BBQ (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Your sauce or commercial sauce in competition? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=14404)

Sawdustguy 11-20-2005 07:04 PM

Your sauce or commercial sauce in competition?

Gents,

Just your pain in the ass polock looking for information about competition. Do you guys (and gals) use your own sauce or a commercial product to sauce during a competition? It would especially interesting to hear from guys who have won or placed highly but everyone is welcome to chime in.

smokincracker 11-20-2005 07:23 PM

Gent

Good luck getting the straight story on that one.......I've been asking that one for 2 years. I have never bought a sauce worse than the crap I have tried to make.
I use 3 different sauces for the 4 mains and Doctor them all with mixed results...

rookiedad 11-20-2005 07:28 PM

sawdustguy, IMHO tinkering with the rubs and sauces is 2/3 the fun of cooking q. now remember i have not competed yet, but when i do i intend to go all original. i do read every ingredient on every bottle of bbq sauce i can find though, and i juggle those ingredients into my own sauces.
phil

smokincracker 11-20-2005 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rookiedad
sawdustguy, IMHO tinkering with the rubs and sauces is 2/3 the fun of cooking q. now remember i have not competed yet, but when i do i intend to go all original. i do read every ingredient on every bottle of bbq sauce i can find though, and i juggle those ingredients into my own sauces.
phil

What do you use for the other spices ingredient......

rookiedad 11-20-2005 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by smokincracker
What do you use for the other spices ingredient......

what?!

MilitantSquatter 11-20-2005 07:39 PM