The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Have $3-4K to spend....what to do??? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=182186)

ntmeyer 02-21-2014 07:59 PM

Have $3-4K to spend....what to do???

New joiner here, although I've been stalking the forums and threads for a few years it seems. Had a WSM 18.5 until I recently moved back to DFW area and the movers destroyed it. With the tax return, the wife said it's time to buy another!!!

So, here's where I am. I've looked at 4 smokers in tremendous detail:

1. Jambo Backyard Model - ~$1850, no options or shipping required
2. Backwoods Fatboy - ~3400 with options and shipping
3. Superior SS-2 - $3600 with options and shipping
4. WSM 22.5 - ~1000 with options and mods

Main option above is CyberQ guru for those wondering.

My decision is really based on 2-3 issues that most struggle with based on my reading of the forum, but open to some new perspectives for other points of view:

1. Flavor profile of wood vs charcoal with little seasoning (i like central tx style BBQ, so salt and pepper for me usually). My guess is wood is probably the best, but heavy fuel consumption and lots of lost sleep is probably not going to be a good thing in the wife's eyes. Especially since i really like cooking packer briskets and those can take forever...

2. Safety and Cleanup - Wife likes idea of insulated smoker for kiddos, but I'm more worried about cleanup. HATED WATER PAN CLEANUP on WSM 18.5. Seen many a post on WSM clay pot mods, but also seen a lot of posts on grease fires in cabinet styles. Starting looking at Superior GF design as a result since Stumps seemed to have a bigger problem in this space (although this may have been fixed)