The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Propane smoker vs Charcoal (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=168972)

Mschultz0009 08-19-2013 04:10 PM

Propane smoker vs Charcoal

Hello all, just wondering if their is a big different in taste between the two. I'm looking at getting a vertical smoker. I'm new at this smoking stuff so I'm still learning. Thanks mike

IamMadMan 08-19-2013 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mschultz0009 (Post 2594226)
Hello all, just wondering if their is a big different in taste between the two. I'm looking at getting a vertical smoker. I'm new at this smoking stuff so I'm still learning. Thanks mike

In reference to the cheaper smokers like "Brinkman". There are pro's and con's to both versions of the vertical smoker;

The charcoal version needs regular scheduled additions of charcoal because the unit is thin walled and the doors leak causing the charcoal to burn up faster than an insulated airtight unit.

The propane will burn through the night but it burns up wood chips / chunks quickly and these need replenishing every couple hours during the early hours of the cook.

These smokers can be modified for better performance, and they make a good starter unit while you decide if you wish to continue in the craft before making or buying a better smoker.

BB-Kuhn 08-19-2013 04:25 PM

Yes.

Go charcoal. If you go gasser, you'll regret not having the charcoal as soon as you get "hooked" on the new hobby.

I don't like the gas smokers for a variety of reasons:
-taste is inferior (not bad, but just not as good)
-I don't like the "how much propane" guessing game. If you lose the game, you ruin your cook.
-Have had hard times keeping temp DOWN low enough on Propane