Stats on my pig...

superdan

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
Hey all!
Thought you guys may be interested in this. My buddies and I usually raise some pigs at his hobby farm. We've never really tracked what it cost us before but this year I figured I'd get all the info. We ended up doing three pigs and here's the final tally. As a recreational pig farmer I found it pretty interesting.
I'll say this, the fresh meat off a Berkshire pig is like nothing I've ever had before. It's sooooo good.
Here's the scoop:

Carcass weight: 168 pounds – Estimated live weight 250-275 pounds.

Total cost $607:
~700 lbs feed.
1 Berkshire piglet
Slaughter service
Processing
Pipes and nipples for water install
New electric fence wire

Total pounds of meat brought home: 129

$607 for 129LB = 4.70/LB

21 pounds - 36 pork chops (4 are double thick)

25 pounds - ground sausage

21 pounds – belly bacon

40 pounds – ham

3 pounds – jowl bacon

5 pounds – spare ribs

12 pounds – pork butt

2 pounds – sirloin roast (pork tri-tip)

If there was one thing I learned from when I used to fly planes regularly, never, ever calculate the cost of a hobby.

But in all honesty, $4.70 average per pound for all that really isn't bad. Interesting stats. Thanks for sharing them.

If there was one thing I learned from when I used to fly planes regularly, never, ever calculate the cost of a hobby.

But in all honesty, $4.70 average per pound for all that really isn't bad. Interesting stats. Thanks for sharing them.

Sage advice indeed! Like I once told my buddy, if I only did things that made sense I wouldn't have any fun at all!

It is easier to swallow when you fly with other peoples (or the governments) money. That said $4.70 overall is an interesting average, thanks for the breakdown.

Not a bad price really with slaughter and processing.
Also the next will be a bit less.
No need for fence and the water supply to be bought again.