The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Catering, Vending and Cooking For The Masses. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Can you make money with BBQ? (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112973)

snyper77 08-04-2011 12:53 PM

Can you make money with BBQ?

I'm very new to Q. Planning to buy a really nice smoker for my 40th b-day in March '12.
I'm always on the lookout for new ways to make money (if I enjoy what I'm doing). Just wondering if there's a profit to be made in BBQ? If so, what's the basics? What are THE top producing gigs?
As you all know, a slab of ribs is $20, butts are $17 (8lbs), whole chicken is $5, and briskets are $30+. That doesn't include gasoline and time, running around everywhere, charcoal, spices, sauces, etc.
With all the high overhead, is there room for a real profit?

I live in northeast Alabama where there are lots of local sporting events, festivals, etc.
Any ideas and tips are greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Sledneck 08-04-2011 01:34 PM

Jacked Up's Matt Ragusa makes crazy money with his BBQ vending and catering. He's mad loaded. Doesn't know what to do with the money. I've seen the room where he has the counting machines

Jacked UP BBQ 08-04-2011 01:38 PM

If you are paying that much for meat, no you cannot make money.

Sledneck 08-04-2011 01:41 PM

But you have to be a better businessman than a cook to be successful. Even Matt isn't that good. He owns an adult book store and sex toy shop in east Rutherford nj close to where the jets/ giants play. If I were him I would combine the businesses and sell BBQ at the sex toy shop.

snyper77 08-04-2011 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jacked UP BBQ (Post 1737587)
If you are paying that much for meat, no you cannot make money.

Where do you buy wholesale meat? What are "the going prices" for wholesale chicken, brisket, ribs and butts?