The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS.

The BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS. (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/index.php)
-   Q-talk (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Please help me choose (https://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=150102)

38special 12-24-2012 06:54 AM

Please help me choose

Hi, I'm new to the forum and to BBQing in general. I have no experience with low and slow cooking and I've only grilled on the Char Broil Red infrared grill I bought last summer. The food never seems to come out real good and I've had a lot of problems with the electric starter.
I've wanted a BGE for a few years, but recently went to the local dealer and the price for a large BGE with the stand and side tables was $1109. I'm not comfortable spending that kind of money for a grill, so I began looking at a few other things. I've read a lot of really good reviews on the Kamado Joe and it is marked down locally to $699...it comes with a stand, side tables, and an ash tool and it seems to be about the same size as the large BGE. I'm pretty set on ceramic especially if the $699 is as good of a price as it seems. However, my other option is the steel Char Griller Kamado for $299 at Lowes. The Kamado Joe seems like it is built better, but the Char Griller gets pretty solid reviews especially for it's price tag.
If anyone has any additional suggestions, input, or opinions they would be appreciated. Thanks and I hope to learn a lot about BBQing.

Plaid Palace 12-24-2012 07:13 AM

I have a Kamado Joe and love it. That is a great price for the KJ.

Search Man Cave meals and read his review of the KJ classic and KJ Big Joe.

Plaid Palace 12-24-2012 07:14 AM

Also, I paid $849 for my KJ and it came with a bag of KJ charcoal, starter, and a cover

Johnny_Crunch 12-24-2012 07:36 AM

If $699 is in your budget I would go with the KJ. It will outlast anything made of metal and you will have it forever.

Bludawg 12-24-2012 09:34 AM