Rib scores help

Smokin' Joe

is one Smokin' Farker
Reaction score
I am still a bit new to this competition thing and I'm struggling with my rib scores. We have done three comps, below are the scores we recieved in each. What are they telling me? Would you make changes to taste based on these (ie, switch rubs, sauce, stuff that goes in the foil, etc). The tenderness scores are so all over the board, I'm not sure what that means??
BTW, we are cooking spares doing a version of 3-2-1 with.

Comp #1
App/Taste/Tenderness

Comp#2

Comp#3

Thanks for the help!

Without knowing exactly what you are doing, specific suggestions for change are not realistic. However, your scores are low across the board. I'd start by looking at your tenderness scores. My guess is you are undercooking the ribs because overcooked ribs usually do well. Until that problem is fixed, it won't really matter how they taste or look.

When the ribs went in the box, did you think they were tender? Did the meat pull cleanly away from the bone? Are you getting all of your ribs from 1 rack where the outside pieces are more cooked than the inside ones?

Pictures of your ribs would help everyone help you.

I've been using Yardbird rub with a sweet sauce that has a touch of heat at the end. I foil with apple juice, brown or turbinado sugar, and honey.

When you select ribs for turn in should I be picking the thicker more meaty ribs or the thinner more consistent ribs? Does anyone trim the ribs to be consistently "thin" prior to cooking??

Without knowing exactly what you are doing, specific suggestions for change are not realistic. However, your scores are low across the board. I'd start by looking at your tenderness scores. My guess is you are undercooking the ribs because overcooked ribs usually do well. Until that problem is fixed, it won't really matter how they taste or look.